top of page

Stacking Crayons: When MOMMY Wants Her MOCHA

Updated: Mar 26, 2020

How Special Needs Kids Teach Us We ALL Count

“When MOMMY Wants Her MOCHA”

INTRODUCTION B (A YELLOW BlogBOX Poem)


When Mommy wants her Mocha, she’s got a favorite Place to be,

But when Mommy gets her Mocha, I don’t want her to bring me!


If she gets it from the Drive Through, the loud speakers hurt my ears,

If she gets it from the Drive Through, I have to fight away the tears.


If we go inside the Building, I fear the music will be loud!

If we go up to the Counter, I get scaRED if there’s a crowd!


But there’s a lady at the counter at my mommy’s Favorite Place!

Oh that lady at the counter makes it a safe and Friendly Space!

See, they say that I’m Autistic, that’s why I don’t like to talk.

And we’ve known some things are Different, since before I could even walk.

Whenever I got excited I would hop and Flap my Arms.

And they say I Spun in Circles, it was one of my Cutest Charms.

And while others started talking I would turn and look away,

And when other kids started talking, I didn’t have a word to say.

See the sounds you think are normal are like pinpricks in my ears,

And that sound you hear as normal could be one of my nastiest fears.

So I need people in my life who are patient and persist,

And who smile and keep on trying, even though I may resist.

But there’s a lady at the counter at my mommy’s Favorite Place,

Oh that lady at the counter and the big smile on her face!

The first time that we went there, I hid my face in mommy’s hair,

But she leaned close in and whispeRED, she was so happy I was there!

‘Course it took a lot of visits, but now we play a little game,

She puts two coffee cups up to her ears and then I do the same.

And I giggle and I laugh as I look her in the eyes,

It’s my way of saying thank you for how consistently she tries,

Oh that lady at the counter with the big smile on her face!

How I love go and visit her at her safe and Friendly Space!


And last week when I came to visit, she gave me a hug and then a squeeze,

When I smiled and placed the order, I said, “I – want – more – Mocha – please!”

I didn’t fully understand those tears shining on her cheeks,

But I saw my Mommy beaming, the best smile I’d seen in weeks!!

So when my Mommy wants her Mocha, she’s got a favorite Place to be,

And when Mommy wants her Mocha, I’m so happy she brings ME!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pastor Todd's Blog Post

We Deliver Confidence, Compassion, and Companionship through Side by Side Volunteer Training.

bottom of page