top of page

SUN., November 29 - OUR HOPE

Updated: Nov 29, 2020

Meeting ID: 619 327 455

More details available at:

OUR HOPE!! ... First Sunday in Advent

10:45 - Leader's Meeting

11:00 - Coffee Hour in 11 Minutes

(Sip your coffee and discuss Ezekiel 33 or Matthew 25 or Ephesians 1 ... and how God might reach a Wide Range of People through us during this season of Pentecost ... or what does COMPANIONSHIP mean to you?)

11:11 - WORSHIP BEGINS

A) FIRST LESSON: Oh, Come, Oh Come, Emmanuel, verses 1 & 2, by Pastor Todd (through 2:29 only)

MALACHI 3:8-12 read by #1

Will man rob God? Yet you are robbing me. But you say, ‘How have we robbed you?’ In your tithes and contributions. You are cursed with a curse, for you are robbing me, the whole nation of you. Bring the full tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house.

And thereby put me to the test, says the Lord of hosts,

if I will not open the windows of heaven for you and pour down for you a blessing until there is no more need.

I will rebuke the devourer for you, so that it will not destroy the fruits of your soil, and your vine in the field shall not fail to bear, says the Lord of hosts. Then all nations will call you blessed, for you will be a land of delight, says the Lord of hosts.

  • Please MUTE and SING (lyrics below:)

  • (Chorus) God will open, open up the windows of heaven and pour you out a blessing., God will open, open up the windows of heaven and pour you out a blessing, God will open, He'll open up the windows of heaven and pour you out a blessing, And you will not have the room; not because of you, but because He's good, And you will not have the room to receive it. (Repeat)

  1. Listen, let me tell you about the God I serve, how He keeps on blessing me and He'll still be worthy of all my praise, if He didn't do another thing, but He woke me up and He started me along my way, while the blood is still running warm in my veins, God's really been good to me, Do you believe that God will … (Chorus)

  2. Now if you don't believe you've really been blessed, take another look and see, He put clothes on your back, and food on your table, and supplied every one of your needs, So instead of thinking about the things, that you don't have yet, thank God for what you have, and what you have left, I know that you will find You've really been blessed. (Chorus)


ANNOUNCEMENTS

What is the mission of Mt. Olive Lutheran Church?

To Serve as a VEHICLE through which the Gospel is Spread!!!


In the next 6 weeks, DAY BY DAY, we will be intentional

about being a VEHICLE

that will deliver CONFIDENCE, COMPASSION, and COMPANIONSHIP

to a tremendously anxious COMMUNITY,

remembering that God is our REFUGE & STRENGTH.


I) THIS Sunday, November 29

LIGHT ONE ADVENT CANDLE:

II) NEXT Wednesday is December 2 at 7 PM

IT'S MY TESTIMONY: How to WRITE & READ & LEAD Devotionals

Every day of every week, but especially at special times of the year.

  • Led by Lakeesha Browne on Advent Wednesdays, 12/2, 12/9, 12/16 & 12/23

III) Reports from the EZEKIEL 44:5 EXPERIMENT

EVERYONE is a part of one Project or the Other:

1) Clean HANDS Project ... Thanksgiving Distribution

THANKSGIVING DISTRIBUTION to 51 Families with Christ Lutheran

2) Clean HEART Project ... St. Luke's Mental Health Support Group

WORSHIP & ZOOM Leadership

  • a) Zoom Christmas Party at 5 PM (Saturday, December 19)

  • b) Blue Christmas Service on Zoom at 7 PM (Tuesday, December 22)

  • c) Christmas Eve Service on Zoom from Mt. Olive at 7 PM (Thurs., December 24)

IV) The WITNESS of the Acts of the Apostles at Mt Olive:

  • 1) October 18 - Jackie, 2) November 1 - Helen

  • 3) November 4 - Yarlette, 4) November 8 -- Walter

  • 5) November 15 - La'Nayia, 6) November 22 - Marie

7) Sunday, NOVEMBER 29 -- DOLPHENE DAVIS

  • HOST: Lakeesha, GUIDE: Tanya, PREACH: Dolphene, PRESIDE: Vetia

8) Next Sunday, DECEMBER 6 -- COREY BROWN

  • HOST: Lakeesha, GUIDE: Tanya, PREACH: Corey, PRESIDE: Vetia

V) NEXT Recording Project

Carlos, Tanya, & Ms. Davis record by January 1, 2021

Detroit Folk Mass, by James Harris and Tillis Butler, Fortress Press

C) SECOND LESSON: Isaiah 64:1-9, led by #2
  • 2) Oh, that you would rip open the heavens and descend, make the mountains shudder at your presence; As when a forest catches fire, as when fire makes a pot to boil; To shock your enemies into facing you, make the nations shake in their boots! You did terrible things we never expected, descended and made the mountains shudder at your presence. Since before time began, no one has ever imagined, No ear heard, no eye seen, a God like you who works for those who wait for him.

  • You meet those who happily do what is right, who keep a good memory of the way you work. But how angry you’ve been with us! We’ve sinned and kept at it so long!

Is there any HOPE for us? Can we be saved?

  • We’re all sin-infected, sin-contaminated. Our best efforts are grease-stained rags. We dry up like autumn leaves; sin-dried, we’re blown off by the wind. No one prays to you or makes the effort to reach out to you, Because you’ve turned away from us, left us to stew in our sins. Still, God, you are our Father. We’re the clay and you’re our potter: All of us are what you made us. Don’t be too angry with us, O God. Don’t keep a permanent account of wrongdoing. Keep in mind, please, we are your people—all of us.

This is the Word of the Lord.

Thanks Be to God!!


C) FIRST CANDLE: HOPE & LOVE, song written & led by Richard Bruxvoort Colligan, played ONLY until 1:30

Skit Guys - Two Professional Christian Performers

E) KYRIE, led by Carlos Leggett
  • In peace, let us pray to the Lord.

Lord, have mercy.

  • For the peace from above, and for our salvation, let us pray to the Lord.

Lord, have mercy.

  • For the peace of the whole world, for the well-being of the Church of God, and for the unity of all, let us pray to the Lord.

Lord, have mercy.

  • For this holy house, and for all who offer here their worship and praise, let us pray to the Lord.

Lord, have mercy.

  • Help, save, comfort, and defend us, gracious Lord.

Amen.

E) LITURGY & PRAYER led by #3 & #4
  • 3) The grace of our Lord, Jesus Christ, the love of God, and the communion of the Holy Spirit be with you all.

AND ALSO WITH YOU

  • 4) We gather together and share a CREED to remember that in God, we have a Companion who will never fail us and will be with us always. It is a CREED that reminds us that death is never the final answer, and the hope springs eternal for those who follow the God of Resurrection and Life.

I BELIEVE IN GOD, THE FAITHER ALMIGHTY

Creator of heaven and earth.

I BELIEVE IN JESUS CHRIST,

God’s only Son, our Lord, who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried; he descended to the dead.* On the third day he rose again; he ascended into heaven, he is seated at the right hand of the Father, and he will come to judge the living and the dead.

I BELIEVE IN THE HOLY SPIRIT,

the holy catholic church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and the life everlasting. Amen.

  • 3) We take this moment to confess our sins: Do you confess that you are captive to sin and cannot free yourself from this trap of sin and death, at least not in this life? Do you confess that you have sinned against God in anger, rebellion, frustration, doubt and fear.

WE DO.

  • 4) Do you confess that, because your neighbor fails to love in the way that God commands, that you also have not loved your neighbor as yourself? Do you confess that you struggle to love God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength?

WE DO.

  • 3) Do you ask, with the help of Jesus Christ, Forgive us, Lord, renew us, and lead us, so that we may delight in your will and walk in your ways, to the glory of your holy name.

WE DO. AMEN.

  • 4) Brothers and sisters hear this grace: In the mercy of almighty God, Jesus Christ was given to die for you and for His sake, God forgives you all of your sins. As a called disciple of Christ I declare the entire forgiveness of all of your sins, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.

AMEN.

B) GOSPEL LESSON: Mark 13:24-37, led by #5 & #6

Halle, Halle, Halle-lujah, led by Tanya Browne & Dolphene Davis


Our Gospel Lesson comes from Mark in the 13th Chapter.

GLORY TO YOU, O LORD!

5) “But in those days, after that suffering, the sun will be darkened, and the moon will not give its light, and the stars will be falling from heaven, and the powers in the heavens will be shaken. Then they will see ‘the Son of Man coming in clouds’ with great power and glory. Then he will send out the angels, and gather his elect from the four winds, from the ends of the earth to the ends of heaven.

6) “From the fig tree learn its lesson: as soon as its branch becomes tender and puts forth its leaves, you know that summer is near. So also, when you see these things taking place, you know that he is near, at the very gates. Truly I tell you, this generation will not pass away until all these things have taken place. Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will not pass away.

5) “But about that day or hour no one knows, neither the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father. Beware, keep alert; for you do not know when the time will come. It is like a man going on a journey, when he leaves home and puts his slaves in charge, each with his work, and commands the doorkeeper to be on the watch.

6) Therefore, keep awake — for you do not know when the master of the house will come, in the evening, or at midnight, or at cockcrow, or at dawn, or else he may find you asleep when he comes suddenly.

And what I say to you I say to all: KEEP AWAKE!"


This is the Gospel of the Lord.

PRAISE TO YOU, OH CHRIST

G) SECOND SONG: It's Me again, Lord, led by Rev. F. C. Barnes

Please MUTE and SING along (lyrics are below:)

  1. It’s me again Lord, with a prayer, I need an answer; It's me again Lord, with a problem, I cannot solve; I don't mean to bother You, there’s something that I must do; I need Your help, to go through, It's me again Lord, It's me again Lord; It’s me again Lord. (Repeat)

  2. It's me again Lord, with a pain, I need Your healing, It's me again Lord; With a burden, I cannot bear, as I go from day to day; Lead me Lord lest I stray, I need Your help everyday, It's me again Lord; It's me again Lord. (Repeat)

  3. It's me again Lord, with a door, I cannot open; It's me again Lord, will you please, open it for me?; There are hills that I have to climb, in Your word Your help I find; I need Your help, All the time, it's me again Lord; It's me again Lord (Repeat verse 1)

H) SERMON: Our Hope, shared by Dolphene Davis

1st OUR HOPE Song: O Come to Us Emmanuel ... (6:23)

sung by Our Redeemer Choir, Penticton, BC (Lyrics are below:)

  1. O Come to us, Em-man-u-el de-liv-er us we pray; Lord,come to us, a-bide with us, re-store our joy to-day; Lord come walk be-side us, Come lead, teach and guide us; Shine in our sha-dows and show us the way

  2. O Come to us, Em-man-u-el de-liv-er us we pray; O come to us, a-bide with us, re-store our joy to-day; Re-joice, Re-joice, Em-man-u-el; Shall come to us and ran-som Is-ra-el

  3. O Come to us, Em-man-u-el and make us one in love; By your strong hand, Lord, heal our land with grace from above; Bring peace for our sor-rows, hope for to-mor-row; Shine in our sha-dows and show us the way; Re-joice, Re-joice, Em-man-u-el; Shall come to us and ran-som Is-ra-el; O come O come Em-man-u-el

2nd OUR HOPE Song: I Can Be Glad ... (4:01)

sung by Larnelle Harris and Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir (Lyrics are below:)

  • (Chorus) I can be glad for my hope is in the Lord; Cause He gives a confidence that this world doesn't know; He's the Lord of all creation and whatever the situation; I'm glad for my hope's in the Lord (Repeat)

  1. Oh right from the beginning, God made me for His own, So He replaced my weak foundation, And made Himself the cornerstone, When all was ready and in order, He promised every day and hour, He'd be faithful to sustain me By His mighty power (Chorus)

  2. If I land in prison, For calling on God's name, He would cause the walls to crumble, under the fervor of my praise, For the cause of Christ I've chosen, to suffer death to prove my stand, I'll be ushered into Glory, led by God's own hand, Every mountain, every fortress, every word that is not His will pass away (Chorus)

3rd OUR HOPE Song: Breath of Heaven (Mary's Song) ... (5:23)

sung by Amy Grant (Lyrics are in the video:)


4th OUR HOPE Song: We Shall Behold Him ... (3:50)

sung by Sandy Patti (Lyrics are in the video:)

SERMON SERIES:

Flames Trimmed & Burning: The Four Candles of Advent

1) OUR HOPE - November 29

2) OUR LOVE - December 6

3) OUR JOY - December 13

4) OUR PEACE - December 20

K) LITURGY of HOLY COMMUNION Lord, God, Heavenly King .... Led by Tanya Browne
  • LORD, GOD, HEAVENLY KING, Almighty God and Father, we worship you, we give you thanks, we praise you for your glory, Lord Jesus Christ, only Son of the Faither, Lord, God, Lamb of God, you take away the sin of the world, have mercy on us,

  • You are seated at the right hand of the Father, receive our prayer. For you alone are the Holy One, You alone are the Lord, You alone are the Most High, Jesus Christ with the Holy Spirit, In the Glory of God the Father, Amen.

GREAT THANKSGIVING & Preface by #7

Please UNMute & RESPOND

The Lord be with you,

AND ALSO WITH YOU

Lift up your hearts

WE LIFT THEM TO THE LORD!

Let us give thanks to the Lord, our God.

IT IS RIGHT TO GIVE OUR THANKS AND PRAISE.


It is indeed right and salutary that we should at all times and in all places offer thanks and praise to you, O Lord, Holy Father, through Jesus Christ our Lord, who on this day overcame death and the grave and by his glorious resurrection opened to us the way of everlasting life. And so with the Church on Earth and all the hosts of heaven we praise your name and join their unending hymn.

Holy, Holy, Holy, Lord, led by Pastor Todd

Please MUTE & SING:

HOLY, HOLY, HOLY, LORD, Lord God of power and might. Heaven and earth are full of your glory, Hosanna in the highest. Blessed is he, who comes in the name of the Lord. Hosanna, in the highest.

WORDS OF INSTITUTION & Lord's Prayer, led by #7

The Words of Institution are recorded for us in the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, and Luke as well as by St. Paul in 1 Corinthians 11:

  • “Our Lord Jesus Christ, on the night in which He was betrayed, took bread and when He had given thanks, He broke it and gave it to His disciples saying: ‘Take and eat; this is My body, which is given for you. This do in remembrance of Me.’

  • “In the same way also He took the cup after supper, gave thanks, and gave it to them saying: ‘Drink of it all of you; this cup is the New Covenant in My blood, which is shed for you and for all people, for the remission of sins. This do as often as you drink it, in remembrance of Me.'”

When the disciples didn't know how to PRAY in the face of the challenges ahead of them, they asked Jesus for help. He said, "Pray this way!" Will you share with me the Lord's Prayer?

Please UNMute & RESPOND

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name,

thy kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread;

and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us;

and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever and ever. Amen.

1) Lamb, Of God, led by Dolphene Davis
2) I Shall Wear a Crown, led by Richard Smallwood

Please MUTE & SING:

* AND *

  • 2) Watch ye, therefore, you know not the day, when the Lord shall call your soul away; If you labor, strivin' for the right you shall wear a robe and crown. (2x)

I shall wear a crown; I shall wear a crown

When the trumpet sounds, When the trumpet sounds

I shall wear a crown; I shall wear a crown, I shall wear a robe and crown

  • Soon as my feet strike Zion, Lay down my heavy burden; Put on my robe in glory, Shout and tell Him my story;

  • Soon as I can see Jesus, Tell Him all about my trouble; Put on my robe in glory, Shout and tell Him my story (3x) I shall wear a robe and crown

L) Post Communion Blessing & Prayer led by #7

ALL: May the body and blood of our Risen Lord, Jesus the Christ, strengthen you and keep you in His grace, now and always. Amen.

  • Let us pray. Life-giving God, in the mystery of Christ’s resurrection you send light to conquer darkness, water to give new life, and the bread of life to nourish your people. Help us to stand with Jesus as witnesses to your Son’s resurrection, that we may show your glory to all the world, through Jesus Christ, our risen Lord. AMEN.

M) BENEDICTION: I Pray We'll All Be Ready, led by Chicago Mass Choir

Please MUTE and SING along (no lyrics in Video, but we all know them, right?)

  • (Chorus) I pray we'll all be ready, I pray we'll all be ready, I pray we'll all be ready for His return, I pray that we'll get our business straight, So we can all meet at the gate, I pray we'll all be ready for His return

  1. Two men walking by the road; One of them had a heart pure as gold; The sky was split; The pure in heart raptured away; But one of the other one left behind; Who did not purge his heart in time; Cried to the Lord but for him it is too late (Chorus)

  2. Man and wife in their bed; One of them by the spirit lead; The rapture came; And took that one above; The other one rose on the next day To found their love one raptured away; Oh, what a way to lose the one you love (Chorus)

  3. I pray that we'll give our hearts a search; So that we won't be playing church; I pray we'll all; I pray we'll all be ready (I wanna be ready); (For his return) His return

  4. Momma and children in the mall; Their momma heard The Master's call; She was swept into the by and by; It's hard to rely on your momma's prayer; When your momma is no longer there; Learn how to pray, learn how to pray; While you still have time. Yeah... (Chorus)

  • I pray we'll get down, Get down on our knees, So the Lord can wash us clean (Chorus)

  • I pray that we'll get up in this rain, So we can all in the end of the day, ah, I pray we'll all be ready (yes I do, yes I do), For His return (His return) (Chorus)

  • No man knows the day, nor the hour, No man knows the day, nor the hour, I pray we'll all be ready (Chorus)

SENDING: Led by led by #7

What is the mission of Mt. Olive Lutheran Church?

TO SERVE as a VEHICLE through which the Gospel is Spread!!!

Go in Peace and Serve the Lord!

Thanks be to God!! And WE WILL!!

SECOND CANDLE NEXT WEEK ... Corey Brown

1) OUR HOPE - November 29

2) OUR LOVE - December 6

3) OUR JOY - December 13

4) OUR PEACE - December 20


NEXT THREE STEPS

A) NEXT Wednesday is December 2 @ 7 PM,

MY TESTIMONY with Lakeesha Browne

B) NEXT STEPS for EZEKIEL EXPERIMENT: Clean Hands Project & Clean Hearts Project

C) NEXT STEPS for ACTS of the APOSTLES Witnesses (Corey Brown)


POSTLUDE 1: Song of Hope, led by Avishai Cohen.
  • Avishai was born in Kabri, a kibbutz in northern Israel about an hour north of Jesus' hometown of Nazareth. He grew up in a musical family at Motza and Beit Zayit near Jerusalem until the age of six, when his family moved to Shoeva in western Israel. He began playing the piano at 9 years old but changed to the bass guitar at the age of 14, inspired by bassist Jaco Pastorius.

POSTLUDE 2: Song of Hope, led by Sachio Nang.
  • Sachio Nang says, "I never thought that as a 17 year old senior from the middle of Illinois, I’d be doing this insanely huge project with fellow musicians I don’t even know! I even got a few friends and family members to help out! ... Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, many musicians were kept at home, with no music to really play. I thought that it would be fun for us, musicians, to band together and play a piece that would be written for the current situation we are in! ... The idea of “A Song of Hope” for this hard, troublesome time we’re living in sounded interesting, so I started composing ... at 3 in the morning after a sleepless night ... 100+ individual tracks ... played by musicians all around the world ... a 53 piece orchestra and a 5 part choir.

POSTLUDE 3: Song of Hope, written by Canadian composer Peter Meechan in honor of his friend.
  • Posted on July 23, 2020, "Just one month ago today, Ryan Anthony [a member of Canadian Brass, and principal trumpet in the Dallas Symphony Orchestra and adjunct professor of trumpet at Southern Methodist University'] sadly left us. Through his foundation and charity, CancerBlows, he championed music as the way to give people everywhere hope which is now the subject of an upcoming documentary feature film. His final ambitious project was to appeal to musicians everywhere, of every standard, to come together and form this incredible virtual ensemble, playing the stunningly beautiful "Song Of Hope". This was an anthem for Ryan and all he stood for. Now, this video, containing all performers aged 6 to 93 and Grammy-winning recording artists alongside those just beginning their musical journey, will immortalize him and his mission to show Music=Hope."

POSTLUDE 4: Song of Hope, led by a private school trio of young ladies from Christchurch, New Zealand.
POSTLUDE 5: Song of Hope, led by Crossroads Church, Corona, California, written and first performed by Robbie Seay Band .
17 views0 comments

Pastor Todd's Blog Post

We Deliver Confidence, Compassion, and Companionship through Side by Side Volunteer Training.

bottom of page