top of page

SUN. March 29 -- GOOD Companionship Worship

Updated: May 5, 2020

GOD is GREAT and GOD is GOOD

A) INTRODUCTIONS & ANNOUNCEMENTS by Pastor Todd
  • It is GOOD that we are here together. It is GREAT that we are able to find a way to be together under these circumstances. In the next 6 Weeks we will be asking, which is our greater calling? To be GOOD? Or to be GREAT? At the dinner table our children pray: GOD is Great and GOD is Good. Some will say that one of those is ONLY possible for God. To be GREAT. They suggest that it is better to learn to live in GOD's IMAGE. To be GOOD. To follow in Christ's footsteps. Who encouraged goodness more than greatness. But that's a sermon for later. In the next 6 Weeks we will reflect on 6 Values that I am Calling COMPANIONSHIP VALUES. About following in Christ's footsteps. Especially now. And practicing GOODNESS. As Christ was GOOD. As in GOOD News. GOOD News we are called to share. Especially now.

Who is Mt. Olive Lutheran Church?

We are a VEHICLE through which the Gospel (Good News) is Spread!!!

In the next 6 weeks we will be intentional about being a VEHICLE that will deliver CONFIDENCE, COMPASSION, and COMPANIONSHIP to a tremendously anxious COMMUNITY, remembering that God is our REFUGE & STRENGTH.

  • Number 1: We will do whatever we need to do to protect and promote the Health of our Mt. Olive People. If anyone doesn't have insurance and they are anxious about getting tested and treated. Let me know. Let us know. God will open doors. We will find a way to help. I have asked two of our nurses, Marie and Alicia, to help us find a way where everybody can check in right now with their health concerns.

  • Number 2: We will do whatever we can to do to protect and promote the Health of our Mt. Olive Congregation. In times of need, God's people find a way to become MORE Generous. Not LESS. We know our TITHES are needed more, not LESS. And we learn to GIVE ONLINE. Maybe even more than our tithe. I have asked Lakeesha and Keith help all of us get connected with Tithely. It's an online App for giving. You can give once a week on the App and set a different amount each week. Or you can make life easy and it automatically sends your tithe every week or every month. Your choice.

  • Number 3: We will check in with each other. In times of need, God's people find a way to become Connect MORE. Not LESS. We see this as an opportunity for Companionship. We see this as an opportunity to walk together. Even when we are on two different sides of the Metroplex. We will check in with each other. And we will ask, "How can I pray for you?". So. Let's pray. Jackie?

B) RESPONSIVE PRAYER by Jackie Leatch, President
  • Turning our hearts to God who is gracious and merciful, we pray for the church, the world, and all who are in need. God of life, keep us connected, especially in these times. Bind your faithful people into one body. Enliven the church with your Spirit and bless our work in this new and different moment. Hear us, O God. YOUR MERCY IS GREAT.

  • God of life, you love the world you have made and you grieve when creation suffers. Restore polluted lands and waterways. Heal areas of the world ravaged by storms, floods, wildfires, droughts, or other natural disasters. And help all who are in need of or offering medical care right now. Bring all things to new life. Hear us, O God. YOUR MERCY IS GREAT.

  • God of life, show redemption to all who watch and wait with eager expectation: those longing for wars to cease, those waiting for immigration paperwork to finalize, those seeking election, and those in dire need of humanitarian relief. Come quickly with your hope. Hear us, O God. YOUR MERCY IS GREAT.

  • God of life, you weep with those who grieve. Unbind all who are held captive by anxiety, despair, or pain (especially the people we love who we mention now:). Fill us with compassion and empathy for those who struggle, and keep us faithful in prayer. Hear us, O God. YOUR MERCY IS GREAT.

  • This we pray, dear Lord, trusting in your holy and everlasting Companionship, in this life and in the life to come.  AMEN

C) First SONG led by Pastor Todd

A Mighty Fortress Is Our God, HeartSong Cedarville University

  1. A mighty Fortress is our God, A Bulwark never failing; Our Helper He amid the flood, Of mortal ills prevailing: For still our ancient foe, Doth seek to work us woe; His craft and power are great, And, armed with cruel hate, On earth is not his equal. Oh – oh, Oh – oh, Oh – oh, Oh – oh.

  2. Did we in our own strength confide, Our striving would be losing; Were not the right Man on our side, The Man of God’s own choosing: Dost ask who that may be? Christ Jesus, it is He; Lord Sabbaoth His Name, From age to age the same, And He must win the battle. Oh – oh, Oh – oh, Oh – oh, Oh – oh.

  3. And though this world, with devils filled, Should threaten to undo us, We will not fear, for God hath willed, His truth to triumph through us: (2x) Oh – oh, Oh – oh, Oh – oh, Oh – oh.

  • A Mighty Fortress is our God, His Kingdom is forever! (2x) His Kingdom is forever!! (2x) Did we in our own strength confide, Our striving would be losing;

D) LITURGY led by Corey Brown
  • We gather together and share a CREED to remember that in God, we have a Companion who will never fail us and will be with us always. Will you share with me the Apostle's Creed?:

  1. I believe in God, the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth.

  2. I believe in Jesus Christ, God’s only Son, our Lord, who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried; he descended to the dead.* On the third day he rose again; he ascended into heaven, he is seated at the right hand of the Father, and he will come to judge the living and the dead.

  3. I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy catholic church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and the life everlasting. Amen.

  • When the disciples didn't know how to PRAY in the face of the challenges ahead of them, they asked Jesus for help. He said, "Pray this way!" Will you share with me the Lord's Prayer?

  1. Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name,

  2. thy kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

  3. Give us this day our daily bread;

  4. and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us;

  5. and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

  6. For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever and ever. Amen.

E) FIRST LESSON led by Helen Beaujour

PSALM 91: 1-7 (and the Refrain from On Eagle's Wings, by Michael Joncas)

  • And He will lift you up on Eagle's Wings, bear you on the breath of God, make you to shine like the sun. and hold you in the palm of His hand.

  1. Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High, will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.

  2. I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.”

  3. Surely he will save you, from the fowler’s snare, and from the deadly pestilence.

  4. He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.

  5. You will not fear the terror of night, nor the arrow that flies by day,

  6. nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness, nor the plague that destroys at midday.

  7. A thousand may fall at your side, ten thousand at your right hand, but it will not come near you.

  • And He will lift you up on Eagle's Wings, bear you on the breath of God, make you to shine like the sun. and hold you in the palm of His hand. Amen.

F) Second SONG led by Tanya Browne

His Eye Is On the Sparrow, by Civilla D. Martin

  1. Why should I feel discouraged, why should the shadows come, Why should my heart be lonely, and long for heav’n and home, When Jesus is my portion? My constant Friend is He: His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

  2. Refrain: I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free, For His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

  3. “Let not your heart be troubled,” His tender word I hear, And resting on His goodness, I lose my doubts and fears; Though by the path He leadeth, but one step I may see; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me. (Refrain)

  4. Whenever I am tempted, whenever clouds arise, When songs give place to sighing, when hope within me dies, I draw the closer to Him, from care He sets me free; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me. (Refrain)

G) SECOND LESSON led by Marie Levier

JOHN 11:1-11

  1. Now a man named Lazarus was sick. He was from Bethany, the village of Mary and her sister Martha. 2 (This Mary, whose brother Lazarus now lay sick, was the same one who poured perfume on the Lord and wiped his feet with her hair.) 3 So the sisters sent word to Jesus, “Lord, the one you love is sick.” 4 When he heard this, Jesus said, “This sickness will not end in death. No, it is for God’s glory so that God’s Son may be glorified through it.” 5 Now Jesus loved Martha and her sister and Lazarus. 6 So when he heard that Lazarus was sick, he stayed where he was two more days, 7 and then he said to his disciples, “Let us go back to Judea.” 8 “But Rabbi,” they said, “a short while ago the Jews there tried to stone you, and yet you are going back? 9 Jesus answered, “Are there not twelve hours of daylight? Anyone who walks in the daytime will not stumble, for they see by this world’s light. 10 It is when a person walks at night that they stumble, for they have no light.” 11 After he had said this, he went on to tell them, “Our friend Lazarus has fallen asleep; but I am going there to wake him up.”

H) CHILDREN'S MOMENT led by Yarlette Bryant
  • Click the link above to connect to a Facebook Live recording from Yarlette's Facebook page. What a BLESSING!! (You may need to be a FB friend of Yarlette or Pastor Todd to see it!)

J) Third SONG led by Pastor Todd

Shepherd Me, Oh God, Marty Haugen

  • Refrain: Shepherd me, O God, beyond my wants, Beyond my fears, from death into life.

  1. God is my shepherd, so nothing shall I want, I rest in the meadows of faithfulness and love, I walk by the quiet waters of peace. [Refrain]

  2. Gently you raise me and heal my weary soul, You lead me by pathways of righteousness and truth, My spirit shall sing the music of your name. [Refrain]

  3. Though I should wander the valley of death, I fear no evil, for you are at my side, Your rod and your staff, my comfort and my hope. [Refrain]

  4. You have set me a banquet of love, in the face of hatred, crowning me with love beyond my power to hold. [Refrain]

  5. Surely your kindness and mercy follow me all the days of my life; I will dwell in the house of my God forevermore. [Refrain]

K) REFLECTION led by Pastor Todd Bruning
  • Click the link above to connect to a Google Doc text file of Pastor Todd's sermon. A video version of the sermon is usually posted on the Wednesday after the Sunday worship service!! Here are highlights:

During the next 6 Weeks we will:

Deliver CONFIDENCE, COMPASSION, and COMPANIONSHIP to a tremendously anxious COMMUNITY, remembering that God is our REFUGE & STRENGTH.

1) The Health of our Mt. Olive PEOPLE is VERY Important

  • If you Need Help getting Tested or Treated -- WE will find a way to HELP!!

  • Self-Quarantine in Groups of less than 10. Wash your Hands. Don't touch your Face. AND. Practice Social Distancing.

2) The Health of our Mt. Olive CONGREGATION is VERY Important

  • Join us EVERY SUNDAY at 11 AM for ZOOM WORSHIP

  • Join us EVERY WEDNESDAY at 7 PM for ZOOM BIBLE STUDY

  • Get very GOOD at ONLINE Communication

  • Meet with and CONNECT with Members and Friends on Facebook, Instagram, Text, E-mail, or even, old fashioned Phone Calls!!

  • GENEROSITY. Keep your TITHES current. Set up your TITHES on the TITHELY App. This helps us better respond to the needs of our neighborhood during this Public Health Challenge.

3) This New Normal is a MARATHON not a Sprint

4) EVERY WEEK each Mt. Olive Person will REACH OUT to Another Mt. Olive Person

  • We will set up a system so that you get a call from somebody every week

  • We will also ask you to contact one, two or three people every week, just to ask, "How can I pray for you?

5) We will find NEW WAYS to Reach Out to our Mt. Olive NEIGHBORS

  • We will post Volunteer Opportunities on the Blog Site

  • How can you SAFELY reach out to our Fair Park Neighbors ... or your own Neighbors?

6) Practice COMPANIONSHIP as much as Possible

  • Keep in CONTACT with each other; especially others you don't know well

  • Learn more about how to Connect SIDE-BY-SIDE

  • Help set up a CIRCLE of CARE for yourself ... your family ... your COMPANIONS

L) Fourth SONG led by Pastor Todd or Drake Bryant

On Eagle's Wings, by Michael Joncas

  • Refrain: And He will raise you up on eagles’ wings, Bear you on the breath of dawn, Make you to shine like the sun, and hold you in the palm of His hand.

  1. You who dwell in the shelter of the Lord, Who abide in His shadow for life, Say to the Lord: "My refuge, my rock in whom I trust!" (Refrain)

  2. The snare of the fowler will never capture you, And famine will bring you no fear: Under His wings your refuge, His faithfulness your shield. (Refrain)

  3. You need not fear the terror of the night, Nor the arrow that flies by day; Though thousands fall about you, Near you it shall not come. (Refrain)

  4. For to His angels He's given a command, To guard you in all of your ways; Upon their hands they will bear you up, Lest you dash your foot against a stone. (Refrain)

  • Refrain: And He will raise you up on eagles’ wings, Bear you on the breath of dawn, Make you to shine like the sun, and hold you in the palm of His hand.

M) COMMUNION Companionship Assignment by Alicia Brown
  • We haven't figured out yet how to do Communion this way. Via Zoom. So for a couple of weeks we'll give you a communion assignment instead. Always in 2 parts.

Part 1: Jesus is the Bread of Life

  • SPEND your first fifteen minutes EVERY DAY one on one with Christ, your Companion.

  • And SPEND fifteen minutes SOMETIME THIS WEEK one on one with one other person, a Companion. Or two or three.

  • Use Pastor Todd's Blog as a Resource. He's writing a reflection every day. And this service is on the Blog too.

Part 2: Jesus is the Vine, We are the Branches

  • REACH OUT and INVITE two people to join us next Sunday. But do it this way first. Ask them: HOW CAN I PRAY FOR YOU THIS WEEK? Just that. And if you never get around to inviting them because there was so much to talk about and pray about, that's great.

  • HOW WILL YOU CONNECT? You might, in the next days ahead, want to do it this way. Send a digital recording. Or Skype. Or Face Time. Or Zoom. Or Facebook. Or Instagram. Or text. Or even call on the phone the old-fashioned way. But face to face. At home. Is great too!!

K) BENEDICTION by Lakeesha Browne

PALM SUNDAY BLESSING

  • May God the Father, who created donkey, palm branches, and frail and fallible human beings, watch over our health and homes this day.

  • May God the Son, whose arms were spread on the cross to embrace the whole world, help us this week to take up the cross and follow him.

  • May God the Holy Spirit, who connects us together as one body even when we cannot physically see or touch each other bind us together in love.

  • May God bless us in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.

MISSION

  • The Mission of Mt. Olive Lutheran Church is:

  • To serve as a vehicle through which the Gospel is Spread.

  • Go in Peace and Serve the Lord:

  • Thanks be to God

SENDING PEACE

  • Peace Be with You.

  • And also with you!!

To play this video, view this post from your live site.

His Eye Is On the Sparrow, by Civilla D. Martin

  1. Why should I feel discouraged, why should the shadows come, Why should my heart be lonely, and long for heav’n and home, When Jesus is my portion? My constant Friend is He: His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

  2. Refrain: I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free, For His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

  3. “Let not your heart be troubled,” His tender word I hear, And resting on His goodness, I lose my doubts and fears; Though by the path He leadeth, but one step I may see; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me. (Refrain)

  4. Whenever I am tempted, whenever clouds arise, When songs give place to sighing, when hope within me dies, I draw the closer to Him, from care He sets me free; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me. (Refrain)

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pastor Todd's Blog Post

We Deliver Confidence, Compassion, and Companionship through Side by Side Volunteer Training.

bottom of page