top of page

SUN. May 3 - STAND By Me Worship

Updated: May 5, 2020

Meeting ID: 619 327 455

More details available at:

STAND BY ME - 4th Sunday of Easter

10:30 - Leader's Meeting

10:45 - Coffee Hour in 15 Minutes (Discuss John 10 & how Jesus is walking with us during this time)

11:01 - WORSHIP BEGINS

John 10:2-3  The one who enters by the gate is the shepherd of the sheep. The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice.He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.

A) FIRST SONG: Stand By Me, led by Take 6 (at 2:22) ... Please STAND if you are able and get your Arms (or Hands) ready to Praise ;-) !!
  1. When the night has come, And the land is dark, And the moon is the only light we see; No I won't be afraid, No I won't be afraid, Just as long as You stand, stand by me, And dear Lord, dear Lord stand by me, Oh, now, now, stand by me, Stand by me, stand by me

  2. If the sky that we look upon, Should tumble and fall, And the mountain should crumble to the sea, I won't cry, I won't cry, No I won't shed a tear, Just as long as You stand, stand by me, And dear Lord, dear Lord stand by me, Oh, now, now, stand by me, Stand by me, stand by me

What is the mission of Mt. Olive Lutheran Church?

To Serve as a VEHICLE through which the Gospel is Spread!!!


In the next 6 weeks we will be intentional about being a VEHICLE that will deliver CONFIDENCE, COMPASSION, and COMPANIONSHIP to a tremendously anxious COMMUNITY, remembering that God is our REFUGE & STRENGTH.


1) 10 FAMILY REUNION Music Tracks for September Mt. Olive Birthday Party

2) In MAY: Layering WORSHIP Tracks, Digital Companionship Kits

  • 3) Month of MAY: "DELIVER" Companionship Kits to every "MEMBER"

3) Month of JUNE: Put together Companionship Kits for our NEIGHBORHOOD(s)

B) FIRST LESSON: Acts 2:42-47, led by the graceful Goffney Girls
  • 42 They devoted themselves to the apostles' teaching and fellowship, to the breaking of bread and the prayers.  43 Awe came upon everyone, because many wonders and signs were being done by the apostles.  44 All who believed were together and had all things in common;  45 they would sell their possessions and goods and distribute the proceeds to all, as any had need.  46 Day by day, as they spent much time together in the temple, they broke bread at home and ate their food with glad and generous hearts,  47 praising God and having the goodwill of all the people. And day by day the Lord added to their number those who were being saved.

C) SECOND LESSON: 1 Peter 2:19-25, led by the gracious Goffney Girls
  • 19 For it is a credit to you if, being aware of God, you endure pain while suffering unjustly.  20 If you endure when you are beaten for doing wrong, what credit is that? But if you endure when you do right and suffer for it, you have God's approval.  21 For to this you have been called, because Christ also suffered for you, leaving you an example, so that you should follow in his steps.  22 "He committed no sin, and no deceit was found in his mouth."  23 When he was abused, he did not return abuse; when he suffered, he did not threaten; but he entrusted himself to the one who judges justly.  24 He himself bore our sins in his body on the cross, so that, free from sins, we might live for righteousness; by his wounds you have been healed.  25 For you were going astray like sheep, but now you have returned to the shepherd and guardian of your souls.

D) MESSAGE for the YOUNG at HEART, led by Yarlette Bryant

E) LITURGY & PRAYER led by Alicia Brown & Corey Brown

A) The grace of our Lord, Jesus Christ, the love of God, and the communion of the Holy Spirit be with you all.

  • AND ALSO WITH YOU

C) We gather together and share a CREED to remember that in God, we have a Companion who will never fail us and will be with us always. Will you share with me the Apostle's Creed?:

  1. I BELIEVE IN GOD, the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth.

  2. I BELIEVE IN JESUS CHRIST, God’s only Son, our Lord, who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried; he descended to the dead.* On the third day he rose again; he ascended into heaven, he is seated at the right hand of the Father, and he will come to judge the living and the dead.

  3. I BELIEVE IN THE HOLY SPIRIT, the holy catholic church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and the life everlasting. Amen.

A) We take this moment to confess our sins: Do you confess that we are captive to sin and cannot free ourselves. That we have sinned against God in thought, word, and deed, by what we have done and by what we have left undone.

  • WE DO.

C) Do you confess that we have not loved God with our whole heart; we have not loved our neighbors as ourselves.

  • WE DO

A) For the sake of your Son, Jesus Christ, have mercy on us. Forgive us, renew us, and lead us, so that we may delight in your will and walk in your ways, to the glory of your holy name.

  • AMEN

C) In the mercy of almighty God, Jesus Christ was given to die for you and for His sake, God forgives you all of your sins. As a called disciple of Christ I declare the entire forgiveness of all of your sins, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.

  • AMEN

A) Let us pray. O God, our Good Shepherd, you know your sheep by name and lead us to safety through the valleys and shadows of death. Guide us by your voice, that we may walk in certainty and security to the joyous feast prepared in your house, through Jesus Christ, our Savior and Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and forever. AMEN.

F) GOSPEL LESSON: John 10:1-10, led by the grateful Goffney Girls

The Holy Gospel according to John, the 10th Chapter. GLORY TO YOU, O LORD!

  • 1 Very truly, I tell you, anyone who does not enter the sheepfold by the gate but climbs in by another way is a thief and a bandit.  2 The one who enters by the gate is the shepherd of the sheep.  3 The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep hear his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.  4 When he has brought out all his own, he goes ahead of them, and the sheep follow him because they know his voice.  5 They will not follow a stranger, but they will run from him because they do not know the voice of strangers."  6 Jesus used this figure of speech with them, but they did not understand what he was saying to them.  7 So again Jesus said to them, "Very truly, I tell you, I am the gate for the sheep.  8 All who came before me are thieves and bandits; but the sheep did not listen to them. 9 I am the gate. Whoever enters by me will be saved, and will come in and go out and find pasture.  10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy.

  • I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly."

  • The Gospel of the Lord. PRAISE TO YOU, O CHRIST.

F) SECOND SONG: Let There Be Love Among Us, led by Tanya Browne, Dolphene Davis, & Pastor Todd

Please MUTE & SING

  1. Let there be love shared among us, Let there be love in our eyes, May now Your love sweep this nation, Cause us oh Lord to arise, Give us a fresh understanding, Of brotherly love that is real, Let there be love shared among us, Let there be love

  2. Let there be joy/peace shared among us, Let there be joy/peace in our eyes, May now Your joy/peace sweep this nation. Cause us oh Lord to arise, Give us a fresh understanding, Of joy/peace in our hearts that is real, Let there be joy/peace shared among us, Let there be joy/peace.

  3. Give us a fresh understanding, Of brotherly love that is real,, Let there be joy shared among us, Let there be joy.

G) SERMON led by Pastor Todd Bruning

I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.

Through Christ who gives me strength, I can do all things.

Through me all things can be done when Christ gives me strength.

  • But wherever we go, Jesus says, the Good Shepherd says, wherever we go. I will be with you. And if you follow me. If you listen to my voice. You will find peace. And beauty. And joy. Wherever we go. For my sheep know my voice. And when I call, they follow. Trusting that I will always take care of them. Even when we leave one valley. And head toward another.

  • Through Christ who gives me strength, I can go where ever the Good Shepherd leads. And be thankful for the wonderful flock the Good Shepherd keeps gathering. Around me.

H) THIRD SONG The King of Love my Shepherd Is, led by I AM THEE, Essential Worship

Please MUTE & SING

  1. The King of Love my Shepherd is, Whose goodness faileth never, I nothing lack if I am His, And He is mine forever, (And He is mine forever) Where streams of living water flow, My ransomed soul He leadeth, And where the verdant pastures grow, With food celestial feedeth

  2. Never failing, Ruler of my heart, Everlasting, Lover of my soul, On the mountain high or in the valley low, The King of Love my Shepherd is, The King of Love my Shepherd is

  3. Lost and foolish oft I strayed, But yet in love He sought me, And on His shoulder gently laid, And home rejoicing brought me. In death's dark veil I fear no ill, With Thee, dear Lord, beside me, Thy rod and staff my comfort still, Thy cross before to guide me

  4. Never failing, Ruler of my heart, Everlasting, Lover of my soul, On the mountain high or in the valley low, The King of Love my Shepherd is, The King of Love my Shepherd is

  5. Oh, Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Oh, Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Never failing, Ruler of my heart, Everlasting, Lover of my soul, On the mountain high or in the valley low, The King of Love my Shepherd is, The King of Love my Shepherd is.

  6. And so through all the length of days, Thy goodness faileth never, Good Shepherd, may I sing Your praise, Within Your house forever, Within Your house forever

J) LITURGY of HOLY COMMUNION
Lord, God, Heavenly King .... Led by Pastor Todd (need a volunteer to record this for next week, click below for the accompaniment:)

Please MUTE & SING

  • LORD, GOD, HEAVENLY KING, Almighty God and Father, we worship you, we give you thanks, we praise you for your glory, Lord Jesus Christ, only Son of the Faither, Lord, God, Lamb of God, you take away the sin of the world, have mercy on us,

  • You are seated at the right hand of the Father, receive our prayer. For you alone are the Holy One, You alone are the Lord, You alone are the Most High, Jesus Christ with the Holy Spirit, In the Glory of God the Father, Amen.

GREAT THANKSGIVING & Preface by Lakeesha Browne

Please UNMute & RESPOND

The Lord be with you,

  • AND ALSO WITH YOU

Lift up your hearts

  • WE LIFT THEM TO THE LORD!

Let us give thanks to the Lord, our God.

  • IT IS RIGHT TO GIVE OUR THANKS AND PRAISE.


It is indeed right and salutary that we should at all times and in all places offer thanks and praise to you, O Lord, Holy Father, through Jesus Christ our Lord, who on this day overcame death and the grave and by his glorious resurrection opened to us the way of everlasting life. And so with the Church on Earth and all the hosts of heaven we praise your name and join their unending hymn.

Holy, Holy, Holy, Lord, led by Pastor Todd

Please MUTE & SING:

HOLY, HOLY, HOLY, LORD, Lord God of power and might. Heaven and earth are full of your glory, Hosanna in the highest. Blessed is he, who comes in the name of the Lord. Hosanna, in the highest.


WORDS OF INSTITUTION & Lord's Prayer, led by Lakeesha Browne

The Words of Institution are recorded for us in the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, and Luke as well as by St. Paul in 1 Corinthians 11:

  • “Our Lord Jesus Christ, on the night in which He was betrayed, took bread and when He had given thanks, He broke it and gave it to His disciples saying: ‘Take and eat; this is My body, which is given for you. This do in remembrance of Me.’

  • “In the same way also He took the cup after supper, gave thanks, and gave it to them saying: ‘Drink of it all of you; this cup is the New Covenant in My blood, which is shed for you and for all people, for the remission of sins. This do as often as you drink it, in remembrance of Me.'”

When the disciples didn't know how to PRAY in the face of the challenges ahead of them, they asked Jesus for help. He said, "Pray this way!" Will you share with me the Lord's Prayer?

Please UNMute & RESPOND

  1. Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name,

  2. thy kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

  3. Give us this day our daily bread;

  4. and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us;

  5. and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

  6. For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever and ever. Amen.

Lamb, Of God, led by Take 6

Please MUTE & SING:

  1. Your only son, no sin to hide, But You have sent him from Your side, To walk upon this guilty side, And to become the lamb of God,

  2. Your gift of love, gift of love they crucified, They laughed and scorned Him as He died, The humble King, they named a fraud, And sacrificed the lamb of God,

  • O lamb of God, O lamb of God, Sweet lamb of God, Lamb of God, I love that holy lamb of God, O wash me in His precious blood, My Jesus Christ, the lamb of God, Holy, holy, holy, Merciful and mighty, He's King of Kings and Lord of Lords

  • O lamb of God, O lamb of God, Sweet lamb of God, lamb of God, I love that holy lamb of God, O wash me in the blood … That precious flow, oh the blood, My Jesus Christ, the lamb of God, My Jesus Christ, the lamb of God

Please MUTE & SING:

K) Post Communion Blessing and Prayer led by Lakeesha Browne

May the body and blood of our Risen Lord, Jesus the Christ, strengthen you and keep you in His grace, now and always. Amen.


  • Let us pray. Life-giving God, in the mystery of Christ’s resurrection you send light to conquer darkness, water to give new life, and the bread of life to nourish your people. Help us to stand with Jesus as witnesses to your Son’s resurrection, that we may show your glory to all the world, through Jesus Christ, our risen Lord. AMEN.

L) Threefold Prayer Request & Petition, led by Jackie Brown, Yarlett Bryant, Marie Levier, & Pastor Todd
M) BENEDICTION: Savior, Like a Shepherd Lead Us, by Joslin Grove Choir (with Lyrics)

Please MUTE & SING, Lyrics on YouTube


After the song, please UNMute & RESPOND

Lakeesha: What is the mission of Mt. Olive Lutheran Church?

TO SERVE as a VEHICLE through which the Gospel is Spread!!!

Go in Peace and Serve the Lord!

Thanks be to God!! And WE WILL!!

POSTLUDE: Please MUTE & SING

N) FOURTH SONG: Psalm 23: Surely Goodness, Surely Mercy, Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir, by Shane & Shane (Start at 0:45 and end at 6:40)

The Lord is my Shepherd I shall not want, In green pastures He makes me lie down, He restores my soul and leads me on for His Name, For His great Name,

  • Surely goodness surely mercy, Right beside me all my days, And I will dwell in Your house forever, And bless Your Holy Name

You prepare a table right before me, In the presence of my enemies, Though the arrow flies and the terror of night, Is at my door I'll trust you Lord

  • Surely goodness surely mercy, Right beside me all my days, And I will dwell in Your house forever, And bless Your Holy Name

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil Even though I walk through the valley, Of the shadow of death, You are on my side

  • Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil Even though I walk through the valley, Of the shadow of death, You are on my side

Surely goodness surely mercy, Right beside me all my days, And I will dwell in Your house forever, And bless Your Holy Name

52 views0 comments

Pastor Todd's Blog Post

We Deliver Confidence, Compassion, and Companionship through Side by Side Volunteer Training.

bottom of page