top of page

SUN. August 23 - Consider the LILIES of the FIELD

Meeting ID: 619 327 455

More details available at:

Consider the LILIES - Twelfth Sunday after Pentecost

10:45 - Leader's Meeting

11:00 - Coffee Hour in 11 Minutes (Sip your coffee and discuss Isaiah 54 or Matthew 6 or 11 or 16 ... and how God might reach a Wide Range of People through us during this season of Pentecost ... or has anyone seen CHOSEN?!?!?)

11:11 - WORSHIP BEGINS


Create in Me a Clean Heart, Oh God (* offered by Pastor Todd)

Consider the Lilies of the Field (* offered by Elenyi)

ISAIAH 54:1-8 read by #1

Sing, O barren one who did not bear; burst into song and shout, you who have not been in labor! For the children of the desolate woman will be more than the children of her that is married, says the Lord. Enlarge the site of your tent, and let the curtains of your habitations be stretched out; do not hold back; lengthen your cords and strengthen your stakes. For you will spread out to the right and to the left, and your descendants will possess the nations and will settle the desolate towns. Do not fear, for you will not be ashamed; do not be discouraged, for you will not suffer disgrace; for you will forget the shame of your youth, and the disgrace of your widowhood you will remember no more.  For your Maker is your husband, the Lord of hosts is his name; the Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer, the God of the whole earth he is called. For the Lord has called you like a wife forsaken and grieved in spirit, like the wife of a man’s youth when she is cast off, says your God.

For a brief moment I abandoned you;

But with great compassion I will gather you.

In overflowing wrath for a moment I hid my face from you,

But with everlasting love I will have compassion on you, says the Lord, your Redeemer.

A) FIRST SONG: If We Ever Needed the Lord Before (We Sure Do Need Him Now), Led by Take 6 (Pastor Todd's favorite group).
  • (CHORUS) If we ever needed the Lord before, We sure do need Him now Oh, we sure do need Him now, Oh, Lord, we sure do need Him now (Oh, glory) If we ever needed the Lord before, We sure do need Him now

  1. We need Him every day and every hour, We need Him in the morning We need Him in the night, We need Him in the noonday When the sun is shining bright, We need Him when we're happy We need Him when we're sad, We need Him when we're burdened Just to make our hearts feel glad

  2. We need Him, we need Him, We really, really, really need Him In the morning, in the night, We need Him in the noonday When the sun is shining (shining bright), (Oh) We need Him, we need Him We really need Him, When we're happy, when we're sad We need Him when we're burdened Just to make our hearts fell... glad

  3. We need Him every day and every hour We need Him every day and every hour (Minute by minute by minute) We need Him every day and every hour (Every day and, and every hour)

Please MUTE and SING (lyrics in video)

ANNOUNCEMENTS
What is the mission of Mt. Olive Lutheran Church?

To Serve as a VEHICLE through which the Gospel is Spread!!!


In the next 6 weeks, DAY BY DAY, we will be intentional

about being a VEHICLE

that will deliver CONFIDENCE, COMPASSION, and COMPANIONSHIP

to a tremendously anxious COMMUNITY,

remembering that God is our REFUGE & STRENGTH.


1) Wednesday -- BOTH Jackie & Helen's CIRCLES of CARE meet on Zoom

August 26 @ 7 PM (or does Thursday, August 27 work better?)

ACTS Bible Study will begin on Wednesday, September 9 @ 7 PM

2) 200 Back Packs Project on Saturday, August 29, 9:30 AM - 1 PM

3) FOUR of the Songs offered today for worship were requested in the:

4) 6 CALLS to Companions by September 15, 3 PRAYER MEETINGS with Circles of Care by September 30, COMPANIONSHIP CARE KIT delivered by October 1.

5) Help with 2 things: A) I WOULD LIKE to SHARE a MESSAGE or a TESTIMONY

B) I WOULD LIKE to HEAR from PASTOR .... or BROTHER .... or SISTER ...

B) FIRST LESSON: MATTHEW 6:25-34, 11:28-30 led by #2 & #3
  • 2) “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?  “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.

  • 3) If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith?  So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them.  

  • 2) But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.  Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

  • 3) “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

This is the Word of the Lord.

THANKS BE TO GOD.


(*ready to add in voices by Children & Parents)

D) MESSAGE for the YOUNG at HEART, led by Yarlette Bryant, Sydney Brown and the gifted Goffney Girls
E) LITURGY & PRAYER led by #4 & #5
  • 5) The grace of our Lord, Jesus Christ, the love of God, and the communion of the Holy Spirit be with you all.

AND ALSO WITH YOU

  • 4) We gather together and share a CREED to remember that in God, we have a Companion who will never fail us and will be with us always. It is a CREED that reminds us that death is never the final answer, and the hope springs eternal for those who follow the God of Resurrection and Life.

I BELIEVE IN GOD,

the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth.

I BELIEVE IN JESUS CHRIST,

God’s only Son, our Lord, who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried; he descended to the dead.* On the third day he rose again; he ascended into heaven, he is seated at the right hand of the Father, and he will come to judge the living and the dead.

I BELIEVE IN THE HOLY SPIRIT,

the holy catholic church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and the life everlasting. Amen.

  • 5) We take this moment to confess our sins: Do you confess that you are captive to sin and cannot free yourself from this trap of sin and death, at least not in this life? Do you confess that you have sinned against God in anger, rebellion, frustration, doubt and fear.

WE DO.

  • 4) Do you confess that, because your neighbor fails to love in the way that God commands, that you also have not loved your neighbor as yourself? Do you confess that you struggle to love God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength?

WE DO.

  • 5) Do you ask, with the help of Jesus Christ, Forgive us, Lord, renew us, and lead us, so that we may delight in your will and walk in your ways, to the glory of your holy name.

WE DO. AMEN.

  • 4) Brothers and sisters hear this grace: In the mercy of almighty God, Jesus Christ was given to die for you and for His sake, God forgives you all of your sins. As a called disciple of Christ I declare the entire forgiveness of all of your sins, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.

AMEN.

F) GOSPEL LESSON: Matthew 16:13-20 read by #6

Halle, Halle, Halle-lujah, led by Tanya Browne & Dolphene Davis

Hallelujah, Salvation & Glory, (Revelation 19:1) led by Pastor Todd *

(*ready to add in voices by Choir Members)


Our Gospel Lesson comes from the Matthew in the 16th Chapter.

GLORY TO YOU, O LORD!

  • 6) Now when Jesus came into the district of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, "Who do people say that the Son of Man is?" And they said, "Some say John the Baptist, but others Elijah, and still others Jeremiah or one of the prophets." He said to them, "But who do you say that I am?" Simon Peter answered, "You are the Messiah, the Son of the living God." And Jesus answered him, "Blessed are you, Simon son of Jonah! For flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but my Father in heaven. And I tell you, you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church, and the gates of Hades will not prevail against it. I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven, and whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven." Then he sternly ordered the disciples not to tell anyone that he was the Messiah..

This is the Gospel of the Lord.

PRAISE TO YOU, O CHRIST.

G) SECOND SONG: Great Is Thy Faithfulness, written by Thomas Obediah Chisholm and William Marion Runyan, led by Pastor Todd
  • CHORUS - Great is Thy faithfulness! Great is Thy faithfulness! Morning by morning new mercies I see; All I have needed Thy hand hath provided— "Great is Thy faithfulness, " Lord, unto me!

  1. "Great is Thy faithfulness, " O God my Father, There is no shadow of turning with Thee; Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not As Thou hast been Thou forever wilt be. (CHORUS)

  2. Summer and winter, and springtime and harvest, Sun, moon and stars in their courses above, Join with all nature in manifold witness To Thy great faithfulness, mercy and love! (CHORUS)

  3. Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth, Thine own dear presence to cheer and to guide; Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow, Blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside! (CHORUS)

  4. "Great is Thy faithfulness!" "Great is Thy faithfulness!" Morning by morning new mercies I see; All I have needed Thy hand hath provided— "Great is Thy faithfulness, " Lord, unto me! (CHORUS)

Please MUTE and SING along

H) SERMON: CONSIDER THE LILIES

Consider the Lilies of Field, led by Elanyi, three singing sisters from Chile and Utah

  1. Consider the lilies of the field, How they grow, how they grow. Consider the birds in the sky, How they fly, how they fly. He clothes the lilies of the field. He feeds the birds in the sky. And He will feed those who trust Him, And guide them with His eye.

  2. Consider the sheep of His fold, How they follow where He leads. Though the path may wind across the mountains, He knows the meadows where they feed. He clothes the lilies of the field. He feeds the birds in the sky, And He will feed those who trust Him, And guide them with His eye.

  3. Consider the sweet, tender children, Who must suffer on this earth. The pains of all of them He carried, From the day of His birth. He clothes the lilies of the field, He feeds the lambs in His fold, And He will heal those who trust Him, And make their hearts as gold.

  4. He clothes the lilies of the field, He feeds the lambs in His fold, And He will heal those who trust Him, And make their hearts as gold.


Observe the Birds of the Air, by Pastor Paul Klopke, Associate Pastor for Seniors & Special Needs, St. Peter Lutheran Church and School, Arlington Heights, IL

J) THIRD SONG: Jesus is all the World To Me, led by the Historical St. James Missionary Baptist Church Mass Choir from Detroit, sung in TWO STYLES, featuring the late Darryl Houston on the Hammond Organ.

Please MUTE and SING along (lyrics in Video)

  1. Jesus is all the world to me, My life, my joy, my all; He is my strength from day to day, Without Him I would fall. When I am sad, to Him I go, No other one can cheer me so; When I am sad, He makes me glad, He’s my Friend.

  2. Jesus is all the world to me, My life, my joy, my all; He is my strength from day to day, Without Him I would fall. When I am sad, through trials, No other one can cheer, can cheer me so; When I am sad, He makes me glad, He’s my Friend.

  3. When I am sad, through trials; When I am sad, through trials No other one, can cheer me so, When I am sad, He makes me glad, He’s my Friend.

K) LITURGY of HOLY COMMUNION Lord, God, Heavenly King .... Led by Tanya Browne
  • LORD, GOD, HEAVENLY KING, Almighty God and Father, we worship you, we give you thanks, we praise you for your glory, Lord Jesus Christ, only Son of the Faither, Lord, God, Lamb of God, you take away the sin of the world, have mercy on us,

  • You are seated at the right hand of the Father, receive our prayer. For you alone are the Holy One, You alone are the Lord, You alone are the Most High, Jesus Christ with the Holy Spirit, In the Glory of God the Father, Amen.

GREAT THANKSGIVING & Preface by #7

Please UNMute & RESPOND

The Lord be with you,

AND ALSO WITH YOU

Lift up your hearts

WE LIFT THEM TO THE LORD!

Let us give thanks to the Lord, our God.

IT IS RIGHT TO GIVE OUR THANKS AND PRAISE.


It is indeed right and salutary that we should at all times and in all places offer thanks and praise to you, O Lord, Holy Father, through Jesus Christ our Lord, who on this day overcame death and the grave and by his glorious resurrection opened to us the way of everlasting life. And so with the Church on Earth and all the hosts of heaven we praise your name and join their unending hymn.

Holy, Holy, Holy, Lord, or You Are Holy, led by Pastor Todd

Please MUTE & SING:

HOLY, HOLY, HOLY, LORD, Lord God of power and might. Heaven and earth are full of your glory, Hosanna in the highest. Blessed is he, who comes in the name of the Lord. Hosanna, in the highest.

WORDS OF INSTITUTION & Lord's Prayer, led by #7

The Words of Institution are recorded for us in the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, and Luke as well as by St. Paul in 1 Corinthians 11:

  • “Our Lord Jesus Christ, on the night in which He was betrayed, took bread and when He had given thanks, He broke it and gave it to His disciples saying: ‘Take and eat; this is My body, which is given for you. This do in remembrance of Me.’

  • “In the same way also He took the cup after supper, gave thanks, and gave it to them saying: ‘Drink of it all of you; this cup is the New Covenant in My blood, which is shed for you and for all people, for the remission of sins. This do as often as you drink it, in remembrance of Me.'”

When the disciples didn't know how to PRAY in the face of the challenges ahead of them, they asked Jesus for help. He said, "Pray this way!" Will you share with me the Lord's Prayer?

Please UNMute & RESPOND

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name,

thy kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread;

and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us;

and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever and ever. Amen.

1) Lamb, Of God, led by Dolphene Davis & 2) Come Unto Me, led by Take 6 (Pastor Todd's favorite group).

Please MUTE & SING:

  • 1) Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world, have mercy on us (repeat) ... Lamb of God, you take away, the sins of the world, grant us peace ... grant us peace.

  • * AND *

  • 2) Come unto me, all ye that labor, And I will give you rest, Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, For I am meek and lowly of heart, And ye shall find rest unto your souls Rest unto your souls, Rest unto your souls, It's easy, For my burden is light, It's easy, For my burden is light

L) Post Communion Blessing & Prayer led by #7

ALL: May the body and blood of our Risen Lord, Jesus the Christ, strengthen you and keep you in His grace, now and always. Amen.

  • Let us pray. Life-giving God, in the mystery of Christ’s resurrection you send light to conquer darkness, water to give new life, and the bread of life to nourish your people. Help us to stand with Jesus as witnesses to your Son’s resurrection, that we may show your glory to all the world, through Jesus Christ, our risen Lord. AMEN.

M) BENEDICTION: His Eye Is On the Sparrow, led by Tanya Browneurch
  • 1) Why should I feel discouraged,, Why should the shadows come, Why should my heart be lonely, And long for heaven, heaven and home, When, when Jesus is my portion, My constant Friend is He; Oh, oh-oh, his eye is on the sparrow, And I know He watched, watched it over me.

  • 2) Whenever I am tempted, whenever clouds arise, When songs give place to sighing, when hope within me dies, I draw the closer to Him, from care He sets me free; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

  • CHORUS: I sing because I’m happy (happy) I sing because I’m free (free free free) For His eye, his eye is on the sparrow, And I know, I know He watches over me.

Please MUTE & SING:

SENDING: Led by led by #7

What is the mission of Mt. Olive Lutheran Church?

TO SERVE as a VEHICLE through which the Gospel is Spread!!!

Go in Peace and Serve the Lord!

Thanks be to God!! And WE WILL!!

BIG PARTIES start in SMALL GROUPS

We start with FOUR ZOOM MEETINGS this SUMMER

as we Learn to Share through CIRCLES OF CARE

  1. 6 Calls to our Companions by September 15

  2. 3 More Prayer Meetings with our Circles of Care before October

  3. A Companionship Kit delivered to our Companion by the end of September

  4. At least one new Circle of Care starts in September

NEXT THREE STEPS

A) THIS Wednesday at 7 PM -- Prayer

Meetings for Both Circles of Care on August 26

B) 200 Back Packs Project on Saturday, August 29, 9:30 AM - 1 PM

C) Will you share a MESSAGE or a TESTIMONY? Who do you want to hear from?

Pastor, Brother, Sister in Christ?


POSTLUDE 1: Jesus Be A Fence Around Me, led by Fred Hammond & Radical For Christ (Live at AZUSA 3)
POSTLUDE 2: For the Longest Time, Quarantine edtion, written by Billy Joel and led by the Phoenix Chamber Choir from Vancouver, Canada.
23 views0 comments

Pastor Todd's Blog Post

We Deliver Confidence, Compassion, and Companionship through Side by Side Volunteer Training.

bottom of page