top of page

SUN. May 17 - "A WIDE RANGE of People" Worship

Updated: May 21, 2020

Meeting ID: 619 327 455

More details available at:

To Reach a WIDE RANGE of People - 6th Sunday of Easter (Ascension Sunday)

10:45 - Leader's Meeting

11:00 - Coffee Hour in 15 Minutes (Sip your coffee and discuss 1 Corinthians 9 and how God might reach a Wide Range of People through us during this time of social isolation)

11:11 - WORSHIP BEGINS


1 CORINTHIANS 9:19-23 (read by Helen Beaujour)

(The Message - MSG)

19-23 Even though I am free of the demands and expectations of everyone, I have voluntarily BECOME A SERVANT to any and all in order to reach a WIDE RANGE OF PEOPLE: religious, nonreligious, meticulous moralists, loose-living immoralists, the defeated, the demoralized—whoever. I didn’t take on their way of life. I kept my bearings in Christ—but I ENTERED THEIR WORLD and tried to experience things from their point of view. I’ve become just about every SORT OF SERVANT there is in my attempts to lead those I meet into a God-saved life.

I did all this because of the Message.

I didn’t just want to TALK about it;

I wanted to BE IN on it!

A) FIRST SONG: I Come to the Garden Alone, led by the Decker Watson Quintet singing at the Fallbrook Church in California
  1. I come to the garden alone, While the dew is still on the roses And the voice I hear, Falling on my ear, The song of God discloses

  2. And He walks with me, And He talks with me And He tells me I am his own, And the joy we share As we tarry there, None other has ever known

  3. He speaks and the sound, Of His voice, Is so sweet the birds hush their singing And the melody, That He gave to me, Within my heart is ringing

ANNOUNCEMENTS

What is the mission of Mt. Olive Lutheran Church?

To Serve as a VEHICLE through which the Gospel is Spread!!!


In the next 6 weeks we will be intentional about being a VEHICLE

that will deliver CONFIDENCE, COMPASSION, and COMPANIONSHIP

to a tremendously anxious COMMUNITY,

remembering that God is our REFUGE & STRENGTH.


1) 10 FAMILY REUNION Music Tracks for SEPTEMBER (Mt. Olive Birthday Party)

2) In MAY: Learn to LAYER Worship Tracks (Garage Band, Acapella)

3) In JUNE: Build a Companionship TREE & Deliver Companionship KITS

4) In JULY: Adapt Companionship Kits for MEMBERS to give out to our NEIGHBORS & discuss FOOD PANTRY Plan for the Future

B) FIRST LESSON: John 14:15-21, led by Jackie Leatch

Our First Lesson comes from the Gospel of John in the 14th Chapter.

GLORY TO YOU, O LORD!

  • [Jesus said to the disciples:] 15 “If you love me, you will keep my commandments. 16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate, to be with you forever. 17 This is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, because he abides with you, and he will be in you.

  • 18 “I will not leave you orphaned; I am coming to you. 19 In a little while the world will no longer see me, but you will see me; because I live, you also will live. 20 On that day you will know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you. 21 They who have my commandments and keep them are those who love me; and those who love me will be loved by my Father, and I will love them and reveal myself to them.”.

This is the Gospel of the Lord.

PRAISE TO YOU, O CHRIST.

C) MESSAGE for the YOUNG at HEART, led by Yarlette Bryant, Sydney Browne and the glorious Goffney Girls
D) LITURGY & PRAYER led by Tanya Browne & Carlos Leggett
  • T) The grace of our Lord, Jesus Christ, the love of God, and the communion of the Holy Spirit be with you all.

AND ALSO WITH YOU

  • C) We gather together and share a CREED to remember that in God, we have a Companion who will never fail us and will be with us always. Will you share with me the Apostle's Creed?:

I BELIEVE IN GOD,

the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth.

I BELIEVE IN JESUS CHRIST,

God’s only Son, our Lord, who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried; he descended to the dead.* On the third day he rose again; he ascended into heaven, he is seated at the right hand of the Father, and he will come to judge the living and the dead.

I BELIEVE IN THE HOLY SPIRIT,

the holy catholic church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and the life everlasting. Amen.

  • T) We take this moment to confess our sins: Do you confess that we are captive to sin and cannot free ourselves. That we have sinned against God in thought, word, and deed, by what we have done and by what we have left undone.

WE DO.

  • C) Do you confess that we have not loved God with our whole heart; we have not loved our neighbors as ourselves.

WE DO.

  • T) For the sake of your Son, Jesus Christ, have mercy on us. Forgive us, renew us, and lead us, so that we may delight in your will and walk in your ways, to the glory of your holy name.

AMEN

  • C) In the mercy of almighty God, Jesus Christ was given to die for you and for His sake, God forgives you all of your sins. As a called disciple of Christ I declare the entire forgiveness of all of your sins, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.

AMEN

  • T) Let us pray. Almighty and ever-living God, through your Holy Spirit, you draw together a wide range of people in heaven and on earth. In your great mercy help all of your children learn from Christ the art of Companionship. Give to us the Spirit of your truth and peace; help it fall afresh upon us, through Jesus Christ, our Savior and Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and forever.

AMEN.

E) SECOND LESSON: 1 Corinthians 9:19-23, led by Holli Cook

The Second Lesson comes from 1 CORINTHIANS, the 9th Chapter.

  • 19-23 Even though I am free of the demands and expectations of everyone, I have voluntarily BECOME A SERVANT to any and all in order to reach a WIDE RANGE OF PEOPLE: religious, nonreligious, meticulous moralists, loose-living immoralists, the defeated, the demoralized—whoever. I didn’t take on their way of life. I kept my bearings in Christ—but I ENTERED THEIR WORLD and tried to experience things from their point of view. I’ve become just about every SORT OF SERVANT there is in my attempts to lead those I meet into a God-saved life. I did all this because of the Message. I didn’t just want to TALK about it; I wanted to BE IN on it! (The Message - MSG)

This is the Word of the Lord.

PRAISE TO YOU, O CHRIST.

F) SECOND SONG: The Servant Song, (by David Haas) led by Diocese of St. Benedict, Old Catholic Missionaries www.oldcatholic.us

Please MUTE & SING (Words are in the Video)


G) Reach a Wide Range of People ... as Each One Reaches One (or Two) ... SERMON led by Pastor Todd Bruning

Spirit of the Living God, (by Daniel Iverson) led by Pastor Todd

Please MUTE & SING (Words are in the Video)

  • Spirit of the living God,, Fall afresh on me.

  • Melt me, mold me, fill me, use me.

  • Spirit of the living God,, Fall afresh on me.


FOUR ZOOM MEETINGS this SUMMER

as we Learn to Share through CIRCLES OF CARE

  1. 1st Zoom Meeting is a 1st Corinthians 9 Companionship Bible Study. Each One Reach One (or Two)

  2. 2nd Zoom Meeting is a 1st Corinthians 9 Companionship Covenant. Creating Circles of Care.

  3. 3rd Zoom Meeting is a 1st Corinthians 9 Companionship Prayer Meeting. Learning to Care & Pray Together.

  4. 4th Zoom Meeting goes over the Nine 1st Corinthians 9 Companionship Questions. Opportunities to Listen with Compassion and Care.

NEXT TWO STEPS

7 PM - Thursday, May 21 – Planning Each One Reach One & Circles of Care

7 PM - Thursday, May 28 – How to Make & Deliver Companionship Kits

H) THIRD SONG: Just a Closer Walk with Thee, (Anonymous) led by Pastor Todd

Please MUTE & SING (Words are in the Video)

  • 1) I am weak, but Thou art strong, Jesus, keep me from all wrong; I’ll be satisfied as long, As I walk, let me walk close to Thee.

    • Refrain: Just a closer walk with Thee, Grant it, Jesus, is my plea, Daily walking close to Thee, Let it be, dear Lord, let it be.

  • 2) Through this world of toil and snares, If I falter, Lord, who cares? Who with me my burden shares? None but Thee, dear Lord, none but Thee.

J) LITURGY of HOLY COMMUNION Lord, God, Heavenly King .... Led by Tanya Browne
  • LORD, GOD, HEAVENLY KING, Almighty God and Father, we worship you, we give you thanks, we praise you for your glory, Lord Jesus Christ, only Son of the Faither, Lord, God, Lamb of God, you take away the sin of the world, have mercy on us,

  • You are seated at the right hand of the Father, receive our prayer. For you alone are the Holy One, You alone are the Lord, You alone are the Most High, Jesus Christ with the Holy Spirit, In the Glory of God the Father, Amen.

GREAT THANKSGIVING & Preface by Vetia Smith

Please UNMute & RESPOND

The Lord be with you,

AND ALSO WITH YOU

Lift up your hearts

WE LIFT THEM TO THE LORD!

Let us give thanks to the Lord, our God.

IT IS RIGHT TO GIVE OUR THANKS AND PRAISE.


It is indeed right and salutary that we should at all times and in all places offer thanks and praise to you, O Lord, Holy Father, through Jesus Christ our Lord, who on this day overcame death and the grave and by his glorious resurrection opened to us the way of everlasting life. And so with the Church on Earth and all the hosts of heaven we praise your name and join their unending hymn.

Holy, Holy, Holy, Lord, led by Pastor Todd

Please MUTE & SING:

HOLY, HOLY, HOLY, LORD, Lord God of power and might. Heaven and earth are full of your glory, Hosanna in the highest. Blessed is he, who comes in the name of the Lord. Hosanna, in the highest.

WORDS OF INSTITUTION & Lord's Prayer, led by Vetia Smith

The Words of Institution are recorded for us in the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, and Luke as well as by St. Paul in 1 Corinthians 11:

  • “Our Lord Jesus Christ, on the night in which He was betrayed, took bread and when He had given thanks, He broke it and gave it to His disciples saying: ‘Take and eat; this is My body, which is given for you. This do in remembrance of Me.’

  • “In the same way also He took the cup after supper, gave thanks, and gave it to them saying: ‘Drink of it all of you; this cup is the New Covenant in My blood, which is shed for you and for all people, for the remission of sins. This do as often as you drink it, in remembrance of Me.'”

When the disciples didn't know how to PRAY in the face of the challenges ahead of them, they asked Jesus for help. He said, "Pray this way!" Will you share with me the Lord's Prayer?

Please UNMute & RESPOND

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name,

thy kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread;

and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us;

and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever and ever. Amen.

Lamb of God Song: I Know My Redeemer Lives, (Nicole Mullen), led by Tanya Browne

Please MUTE & SING

Who taught the sun where to stand in the morning? And who told the ocean you can only come this far? And who showed the moon where to hide 'til evening? Whose words alone can catch a falling star?

  • Well I know my redeemer lives, I know my redeemer lives All of creation testify, This life within me cries I know my redeemer lives,

The very same God that spins things in orbit, Runs to the weary, the worn and the weak, And the same gentle hands that hold me when I'm broken They conquered death to bring me victory

  • Well I know my redeemer lives, I know my redeemer lives All of creation testify, This life within me cries I know my redeemer lives,

I know my Redeemer, he lives, To take away my shame And he lives forever, I'll proclaim, That the payment for my sin Was the precious life he gave, But now he's alive and, There's an empty grave

  • Well I know my redeemer lives, I know my redeemer lives All of creation testify, This life within me cry I know my redeemer lives,

I know, I know (he lives) he lives, he lives, yeah, yeah


Please MUTE & SING:

K) Post Communion Blessing & Prayer led by Vetia Smith

ALL: May the body and blood of our Risen Lord, Jesus the Christ, strengthen you and keep you in His grace, now and always. Amen.


  • Let us pray. Life-giving God, in the mystery of Christ’s resurrection you send light to conquer darkness, water to give new life, and the bread of life to nourish your people. Help us to stand with Jesus as witnesses to your Son’s resurrection, that we may show your glory to all the world, through Jesus Christ, our risen Lord. AMEN.

L) Threefold Prayer Request & Petition, led by Jackie Brown, Yarlette Bryant, Marie Levier, & Pastor Todd
M) BENEDICTION: The Lord Be With You

Please MUTE & LISTEN

  • The Lord be with you and also with you and also with you – Sing with me my friend. Wherever you are, wherever you go, the Lord be with you.

  • I don’t know you now but give me your hand And we’ll take the world, right here where we stand. YOU, ME, and the LORD, my friend there is nothing that we can’t do.

After the song, please UNMute & RESPOND

SENDING: Led by Vetia Smith

What is the mission of Mt. Olive Lutheran Church?

TO SERVE as a VEHICLE through which the Gospel is Spread!!!

Go in Peace and Serve the Lord!

Thanks be to God!! And WE WILL!!

POSTLUDE: The Lord Be With You

Please MUTE & LISTEN

  • The Lord be with you and also with you and also with you – Sing with me my friend. Wherever you are, wherever you go, the Lord be with you.

  • I don’t know you now but give me your hand And we’ll take the world, right here where we stand. YOU, ME, and the LORD, my friend there is nothing that we can’t do.

COMPANIONSHIP CALENDAR

11 AM Sunday, May 17 John 14:15-21 & 1 Corinthians 9 (Rainbow)

7 PM - Wednesday, May 20 – Job 38 (Response from the Storm)

7 PM - Thursday, May 21 – Each One Reach One & Circles of Care

11 AM – Sunday, May 24 – John 17:1-11 & Acts 1 (Purple &  Green)

7 PM - Wednesday, May 27 – Job 42 (Job Repents and Forgives)

7 PM - Thursday, May 28 – Making & Delivering Companionship Kits

11 AM – Sunday, May 31 – John 20:19-23 & Acts 2 (RED)

7 PM - Wednesday, June 3 – A) 1st Corinthians 9 Bible Study

7 PM - Thursday, June 4 – A) 1st Corinthians 9 Bible Study

11 AM – Sunday, June 7 – Matthew 28:16-20 & Luke 10 (RED)

7 PM - Wednesday, June 10 – B) 1st Corinthians 9 Covenant

7 PM - Thursday, June 11 – B) 1st Corinthians 9 Covenant

11 AM – Sunday, June 14 – Matthew 9:35-10:8 & Matthew 18 (RED)

7 PM - Wednesday, June 17 – C) 1st Corinthians 9 Prayer Meeting

7 PM - Thursday, June 18 – C) 1st Corinthians 9 Prayer Meeting

10 AM - Saturday, June 20 – St. Luke's Community UMC Mental Health Support 11 AM – Sunday, June 21 – Matthew 10:24-39 & Genesis 2:15-24 (RED)

7 PM - Wednesday, June 25 – D) 10 Companionship Questions 

7 PM - Thursday, June 26 – D) 10 Companionship Questions

11 AM – Sunday, June 28 – Matthew 10:40-42 & Genesis 6:18-7:12 (RED)

32 views0 comments

Pastor Todd's Blog Post

We Deliver Confidence, Compassion, and Companionship through Side by Side Volunteer Training.

bottom of page