top of page

SUN., October 18 - STAND: Take No Anxious Thoughts

Meeting ID: 619 327 455

More details available at:

STAND: Take No Anxious Thoughts about Governments - Twentieth Sunday after Pentecost

10:45 - Leader's Meeting

11:00 - Coffee Hour in 11 Minutes (Sip your coffee and discuss Psalm 96 or Isaiah 45 or Matthew 22 ... and how God might reach a Wide Range of People through us during this season of Pentecost ... or how has the VOTING EXPERIENCE been so far?)

11:11 - WORSHIP BEGINS


Sacred Signposts: Words, Water, and Other Acts of Resistance, by Pastor Ben Dueholm & Brutally Ordinary Things found at https://bendueholm.com/

PSALM 96:1-13 read by #1

1 O sing to the Lord a new song; sing to the Lord, all the earth. 2 Sing to the Lord, bless his name; tell of his salvation from day to day. 3 Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples. 4 For great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised; he is to be revered above all gods. 5 For all the gods of the peoples are idols, but the Lord made the heavens. 6 Honor and majesty are before him; strength and beauty are in his sanctuary. 7 Ascribe to the Lord, O families of the peoples, ascribe to the Lord glory and strength. 8 Ascribe to the Lord the glory due his name; bring an offering, and come into his courts. 9 Worship the Lord in holy splendor; tremble before him, all the earth. 10 Say among the nations, "The Lord is king! The world is firmly established; it shall never be moved. He will judge the peoples with equity." 11 Let the heavens be glad, and let the earth rejoice; let the sea roar, and all that fills it; 12 let the field exult, and everything in it. Then shall all the trees of the forest sing for joy 13 before the Lord; for he is coming, for he is coming to judge the earth. He will judge the world with righteousness, and the peoples with his truth.

A) FIRST SONG: Jesus Is King, led by Pastor Todd & the GIA Publications Choir, written by Glenn E. Burleigh, African American Church Music Series, GIA Publications,
  • Please MUTE and SING (no lyrics available)

  • And the government shall be upon his shoulders and His name shall be called Jesus, And the government shall be upon his shoulders and His name, His holy name shall be called Jesus,

Don't you worry about presidents, take no anxious thought about governments, do not be afraid of potentates or magistrates, or emperors or senators, remember I'm your King,

  • I will give you peace that passeth all understanding, I will give you joy the world can't take away, Be still and know and know that I am God, your King in all the earth, Be still and know and know that I am God, your King in all the earth.

  • He's my King, every knee shall bow, ruler of every nation, My King, every tongue shall confess, join in the celebration, as the kings of the earth pass their crowns at His feet, He shall reign, forever He's my King.

  • Alto: We're gonna crown him, crown him, We're gonna crown him, Lord of all

  • Soprano: He's gonna reign forever, reign forever, We're gonna crown him, crown him, crown him, Lord of all

  • Men: He is the Lion of the tribe of the Judah, he's the conquering, conquering King, and we shall crown him, crown him, crown him, Lord of all, conquering King

  • Hallelujah, He shall reign, forevermore He shall reign, forevermore He shall reign, Forever, He's my King.

  • Jesus. Jesus Is. Jesus Is My. Jesus Is My KING!!!!!

ANNOUNCEMENTS
What is the mission of Mt. Olive Lutheran Church?

To Serve as a VEHICLE through which the Gospel is Spread!!!


In the next 6 weeks, DAY BY DAY, we will be intentional

about being a VEHICLE

that will deliver CONFIDENCE, COMPASSION, and COMPANIONSHIP

to a tremendously anxious COMMUNITY,

remembering that God is our REFUGE & STRENGTH.


A) NEXT Wednesday October 21 @ 7 PM,

BIBLE STUDY on ACTS: with Christ Lutheran Church, led by Pastor Ben Dueholm

by Pastor Ben Dueholm & Brutally Ordinary Things

found at https://bendueholm.com/

C) THIS Sunday, October 11 @ 12:30 PM

CIRCLE of CARE Prayer after church

D) Names for the EZEKIEL 44 EXPERIMENT

EVERYONE is a part of one Project or the Other:

a) Need 5-10 for Clean HANDS Project ... A plan for returning to IN PERSON Worship

(Planning in Orange to implement in Yellow)

Maybe: Helen, Tanya, Alicia, Marie, Carlos, Drake, Keith, Joe, Terry, Josh,

b) Need 5-10 for Clean HEART Project ... A plan for including the Health & Safety Conscious ONLINE (Planning in Yellow to implement in Green)

Maybe: Jackie, Yarlette, Lakeesha, Mary, Corey, Vetia, Rosa, Allyssia,

Zerlene, Walter, Quinland

E) The WITNESS of the Acts of the Apostles at Mt Olive:

The VITAL LEGACY of the HISTORICAL BLACK CHURCH

Help with 2 things: A) I WOULD LIKE to SHARE a MESSAGE or a TESTIMONY

B) I WOULD LIKE to HEAR from this PASTOR .... or BROTHER .... or SISTER ...

* Lakeesha's Book Project

* October 18, November 1, November 15, November 29

Heard from: Alicia, Lakeesha, Yarlette

Maybe: Helen, Tanya, Jackie, Carlos, Drake, Corey, Vetia, Keith, Terry, Mary,

Joe, Rosa, Allyssia, Josh, Zerlene, Walter

B) SECOND LESSON: Isaiah 45:1-7, read by #2
  • 2) Thus says the Lord to his anointed, to Cyrus, whose right hand I have grasped to subdue nations before him and strip kings of their robes, to open doors before him-- and the gates shall not be closed: I will go before you and level the mountains, I will break in pieces the doors of bronze and cut through the bars of iron, I will give you the treasures of darkness and riches hidden in secret places, so that you may know that it is I, the Lord, the God of Israel, who call you by your name. For the sake of my servant Jacob, and Israel my chosen, I call you by your name, I surname you, though you do not know me.

I am the Lord, and there is no other; besides me there is no god. I arm you, though you do not know me, so that they may know, from the rising of the sun and from the west, that there is no one besides me; I am the Lord, and there is no other.

  • I form light and create darkness, I make weal and create woe; I the Lord do all these things.

This is the Word of the Lord.

Thanks Be to God!!


D) KYRIE, led by Carlos Leggett
  • In peace, let us pray to the Lord.

Lord, have mercy.

  • For the peace from above, and for our salvation, let us pray to the Lord.

Lord, have mercy.

  • For the peace of the whole world, for the well-being of the Church of God, and for the unity of all, let us pray to the Lord.

Lord, have mercy.

  • For this holy house, and for all who offer here their worship and praise, let us pray to the Lord.

Lord, have mercy.

  • Help, save, comfort, and defend us, gracious Lord.

Amen.

E) LITURGY & PRAYER led by #3 & #4
  • 3) The grace of our Lord, Jesus Christ, the love of God, and the communion of the Holy Spirit be with you all.

AND ALSO WITH YOU

  • 4) We gather together and share a CREED to remember that in God, we have a Companion who will never fail us and will be with us always. It is a CREED that reminds us that death is never the final answer, and the hope springs eternal for those who follow the God of Resurrection and Life.

I BELIEVE IN GOD,

the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth.

I BELIEVE IN JESUS CHRIST,

God’s only Son, our Lord, who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried; he descended to the dead.* On the third day he rose again; he ascended into heaven, he is seated at the right hand of the Father, and he will come to judge the living and the dead.

I BELIEVE IN THE HOLY SPIRIT,

the holy catholic church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and the life everlasting. Amen.

  • 3) We take this moment to confess our sins: Do you confess that you are captive to sin and cannot free yourself from this trap of sin and death, at least not in this life? Do you confess that you have sinned against God in anger, rebellion, frustration, doubt and fear.

WE DO.

  • 4) Do you confess that, because your neighbor fails to love in the way that God commands, that you also have not loved your neighbor as yourself? Do you confess that you struggle to love God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength?

WE DO.

  • 3) Do you ask, with the help of Jesus Christ, Forgive us, Lord, renew us, and lead us, so that we may delight in your will and walk in your ways, to the glory of your holy name.

WE DO. AMEN.

  • 4) Brothers and sisters hear this grace: In the mercy of almighty God, Jesus Christ was given to die for you and for His sake, God forgives you all of your sins. As a called disciple of Christ I declare the entire forgiveness of all of your sins, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.

AMEN.

B) GOSPEL LESSON: Matthew 22:15-22 led by #5

Halle, Halle, Halle-lujah, led by Tanya Browne & Dolphene Davis


Our Gospel Lesson comes from the Matthew in the 22nd Chapter.

GLORY TO YOU, O LORD!

  • 5) Then the Pharisees went and plotted to entrap him in what he said. So they sent their disciples to him, along with the Herodians, saying, "Teacher, we know that you are sincere, and teach the way of God in accordance with truth, and show deference to no one; for you do not regard people with partiality. Tell us, then, what you think. Is it lawful to pay taxes to the emperor, or not?" But Jesus, aware of their malice, said, "Why are you putting me to the test, you hypocrites Show me the coin used for the tax." And they brought him a denarius. Then he said to them, "Whose head is this, and whose title?" They answered, "The emperor's." Then he said to them,

"Give therefore to the emperor the things that are the emperor's, and to God the things that are God's."

  • When they heard this, they were amazed; and they left him and went away.


This is the Gospel of the Lord.

PRAISE TO YOU, OH CHRIST

G) SECOND SONG: I Can Hear My Savior Calling written by E.W. Blandly and led by Kyong Weathersby, Taste of Heaven Health Ministry, I Can Hear My Savior Calling led by Sis. Grace Tshimoa, End Time Message Tabernacle

Please MUTE and SING along (lyrics in video)

  • Earnest William Blandy, a Salvation Army officer, wrote this song in 1890 after choosing between a comfortable post at an established church, and an alternate assignment to the New York City waterfront and slum called Hell's Kitchen. He chose the latter. He was a British minister that migrated to the USA in 1884 with his wife, Eliza

H) SERMON: STAND: Wth the FULL ARMOR of God, a message by Jackie Leatch



Sermon Series:

EVERYBODY Benefits from the Truth of the BLACK CHURCH


1) LIFTED UP within an AFFIRMING COMMUNITY

2) SPEAKING to POWER with a POWERFUL VOICE

3) REMEMBERING a LIFE GIVING STORY about FREEDOM

4) ORGANIZING to EFFECT ECONOMIC JUSTICE


5) ADVOCATING for PEOPLE whose VOICE is NOT HEARD


6) DRAMATIC MOVEMENT in MUSIC, the ARTS, & SPORTS

J) THIRD SONG: Stand, by Donnie McClurkin
  • (Please MUTE and SING (lyrics in the video)

  • (CHORUS) Well you just STAND when there's nothing left to do you just stand, Watch the lord see you through Yes after you done all you can, You just STAND

  1. What do you do when you've done all you can And it seems like it's never enough? And what do you say when your friends turn away, and you're all alone

  2. Tell me, what do you give When you've given your all, and it seems like you can't make it through?

  3. Tell me, how do you handle the guilt of your past? Tell me, how do you deal with the shame? And how can you smile while your heart has been broken and filled with pain? Tell me what do you give when you've given your all, Seems like you can't make it through?

  4. [HOOK 2] Child you just stand, when there's nothing left to do You just stand Watch the Lord see you through Yes, after you've done all you can You just stand. [HOOK 3] Stand and be sure Be not entangled in that bondage again You just stand, and endure. God has a purpose. Yes, God has a plan.

  5. Tell me what do you do when you've done all you can And it seems like you can't make it through Child you just stand You just stand Stand ( 2x's) Don't you dare give up (You Just) Through the storm (STAND), Stand through the rain (STAND) Through the hurt (STAND), jet through the pain (You just) Don't you bow (STAND), and don't bend (STAND) Don't give up (STAND) , no, don't give in (You just) Hold on, (STAND) just be strong (STAND) God will step in (STAND), and it won't be long

  6. [Last HOOK] After you done all you can (After you done all you can) After you done all you can (After you done all you can) After you gone through the hurt (After you done all you can) After you gone through the pain (After the yo done all you can) After you gone through the storm (After you done all you can) After you gone through the rain (After you done all you can) Prayed and cried (2x's) (After you done all you can) Prayed and you've cry(After you done all you can) Prayed and cry After you done all you can you just stand


K) LITURGY of HOLY COMMUNION Lord, God, Heavenly King .... Led by Tanya Browne
  • LORD, GOD, HEAVENLY KING, Almighty God and Father, we worship you, we give you thanks, we praise you for your glory, Lord Jesus Christ, only Son of the Faither, Lord, God, Lamb of God, you take away the sin of the world, have mercy on us,

  • You are seated at the right hand of the Father, receive our prayer. For you alone are the Holy One, You alone are the Lord, You alone are the Most High, Jesus Christ with the Holy Spirit, In the Glory of God the Father, Amen.

GREAT THANKSGIVING & Preface by #7

Please UNMute & RESPOND

The Lord be with you,

AND ALSO WITH YOU

Lift up your hearts

WE LIFT THEM TO THE LORD!

Let us give thanks to the Lord, our God.

IT IS RIGHT TO GIVE OUR THANKS AND PRAISE.


It is indeed right and salutary that we should at all times and in all places offer thanks and praise to you, O Lord, Holy Father, through Jesus Christ our Lord, who on this day overcame death and the grave and by his glorious resurrection opened to us the way of everlasting life. And so with the Church on Earth and all the hosts of heaven we praise your name and join their unending hymn.

Holy, Holy, Holy, Lord, led by Pastor Todd

Please MUTE & SING:

HOLY, HOLY, HOLY, LORD, Lord God of power and might. Heaven and earth are full of your glory, Hosanna in the highest. Blessed is he, who comes in the name of the Lord. Hosanna, in the highest.

WORDS OF INSTITUTION & Lord's Prayer, led by #7

The Words of Institution are recorded for us in the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, and Luke as well as by St. Paul in 1 Corinthians 11:

  • “Our Lord Jesus Christ, on the night in which He was betrayed, took bread and when He had given thanks, He broke it and gave it to His disciples saying: ‘Take and eat; this is My body, which is given for you. This do in remembrance of Me.’

  • “In the same way also He took the cup after supper, gave thanks, and gave it to them saying: ‘Drink of it all of you; this cup is the New Covenant in My blood, which is shed for you and for all people, for the remission of sins. This do as often as you drink it, in remembrance of Me.'”

When the disciples didn't know how to PRAY in the face of the challenges ahead of them, they asked Jesus for help. He said, "Pray this way!" Will you share with me the Lord's Prayer?

Please UNMute & RESPOND

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name,

thy kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread;

and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us;

and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever and ever. Amen.

1) Lamb, Of God, led by Dolphene Davis & 2) I Can Hear My Savior Calling, led by Evang. Sandra E. Jackson, Mt. Zion Apostlic Church, Indianapolis, IN, I Can Hear My Savior Calling, led by Miriam Mandipira, Här, i Equmeniakyrkan i Alingsås, Sweden, I Can Hear My Savior Calling, led by Pastor Henry, House of Prayer, Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Please MUTE & SING:

* AND *

  • REFRAIN: Where he leads me I will follow, Where he leads me I will follow, Where he leads me I will follow, I'll go with him, with him all the way.

  1. I can hear my Savior calling, I can hear my Savior calling, I can hear my Savior calling, "Take thy cross and follow, follow me."

  2. I'll go with him into Calvary, I'll o with him into Calvary, I'll go with him into Calvary, I'll go with him into Calvary. [Refrain]

  3. He will give me grace and glory,, He will give me grace and glory, He will give me grace and glory,, And go with me, with me all the way. [Refrain]

L) Post Communion Blessing & Prayer led by #7

ALL: May the body and blood of our Risen Lord, Jesus the Christ, strengthen you and keep you in His grace, now and always. Amen.

  • Let us pray. Life-giving God, in the mystery of Christ’s resurrection you send light to conquer darkness, water to give new life, and the bread of life to nourish your people. Help us to stand with Jesus as witnesses to your Son’s resurrection, that we may show your glory to all the world, through Jesus Christ, our risen Lord. AMEN.

M) BENEDICTION: Go, My Children, With My Blessing, led by Pastor Todd

Please MUTE and SING along (lyrics below)

  1. Go, My children, with My blessing, Never alone. Waking, sleeping, I am with you; You are my own. In My love’s baptismal river, I have made you Mine forever. Go, My children, with My blessing - You are My own.

  2. Go, My children, sins forgiven, At peace and pure. Here you learned how much I love you, What I can cure. Here you heard My dear Son’s story; Here you touched Him, saw His glory, Go My children, sins forgiven, At peace and pure.

  3. Go, My children, fed and nourished, Closer to Me; Grow in love and love by serving, Joyful and free. Here My Spirit’s power filled you; Here His tender comfort stilled you. Go, My children, fed and nourished, Joyful and free.

  4. I the Lord will bless and keep you And give you peace; I the Lord will smile upon you And give you peace: I the Lord will be your Father, Savior, Comforter, and Brother. Go, My children, I will keep you And give you peace.

SENDING: Led by led by #7

What is the mission of Mt. Olive Lutheran Church?

TO SERVE as a VEHICLE through which the Gospel is Spread!!!

Go in Peace and Serve the Lord!

Thanks be to God!! And WE WILL!!

EVERYBODY benefits from the BLACK CHURCH

1) LIFTED UP within an AFFIRMING COMMUNITY

2) SPEAKING to POWER with a POWERFUL VOICE

3) REMEMBERING a LIFE GIVING STORY about FREEDOM

4) ORGANIZING to EFFECT ECONOMIC JUSTICE

5) ADVOCATING for PEOPLE whose VOICE is NOT HEARD


6) DRAMATIC MOVEMENT in MUSIC, the ARTS, & SPORTS

  • Competition and cooperation; Solo expression & Ensemble harmony


NEXT THREE STEPS

A) NEXT Wednesday October 21 @ 7 PM,

BIBLE STUDY on ACTS: with Christ Lutheran Church

B) Get to know Pastor Ben Dueholm

Links to his Blog and Book above

C) NEXT Sunday, October 11 @ 12:45 PM

CIRCLE of CARE Prayer after church

D) Names for EZEKIEL EXPERIMENT: Clean Hands Project & Clean Hearts Project


POSTLUDE: Stand, Three Mimes from Reborn International ministering through Donnie McClurkin's inspiring music.
12 views0 comments

Pastor Todd's Blog Post

We Deliver Confidence, Compassion, and Companionship through Side by Side Volunteer Training.

bottom of page