top of page

SUN. April 19 -- COMPANIONSHIP Worship

Updated: May 5, 2020

Meeting ID: 619 327 455

More details available at:

Job 19:25-27 - I know that my redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand on the earth. 26 And after my skin has been destroyed, yet in my flesh I will see God; 27 I myself will see him with my own eyes — I, and not another. How my heart yearns within me!

Who is Mt. Olive Lutheran Church?
We are a VEHICLE through which the Gospel is Spread!!!

In the next 6 weeks we will be intentional about being a VEHICLE that will deliver CONFIDENCE, COMPASSION, and COMPANIONSHIP to a tremendously anxious COMMUNITY, remembering that God is our REFUGE & STRENGTH.


1) The Health of our Mt. Olive PEOPLE is VERY Important

2) The Health of our Mt. Olive CONGREGATION is VERY Important

  • Join us EVERY SUNDAY at 11 AM for ZOOM WORSHIP

  • Join us EVERY WEDNESDAY at 7 PM for ZOOM BIBLE STUDY

  • GENEROSITY. Learn to give ONLINE with TITHELY.

3) This New Normal is a MARATHON not a Sprint

4) EVERY WEEK each Mt. Olive Person will REACH OUT to Another Mt. Olive Person

  • We will also ask you to contact one, two or three people every week, just to ask, "How can I pray for you?

5) We will find NEW WAYS to Reach Out to our Mt. Olive NEIGHBORS

  • How can you SAFELY reach out to our Fair Park Neighbors ... or your own Neighbors?

6) Practice COMPANIONSHIP as much as Possible

  • Learn more about how to Connect SIDE-BY-SIDE

  • Help set up a CIRCLE of CARE for yourself ... your family ... your COMPANIONS

B) FIRST LESSON: Exodus 15:1-2, 9-13, led by Drake Bryant
  • 1 Then Moses and the Israelites sang this song to the Lord: “I will sing to the Lord, for he is highly exalted. Both horse and driver he has hurled into the sea. 2 “The Lord is my strength and my defense; he has become my salvation. He is my God, and I will praise him, my father’s God, and I will exalt him.

  • 9 The enemy boasted, ‘I will pursue, I will overtake them. I will divide the spoils; I will gorge myself on them. I will draw my sword and my hand will destroy them.’ 10 But you blew with your breath, and the sea covered them. They sank like lead in the mighty waters. 11 Who among the gods is like you, Lord? Who is like you — majestic in holiness, awesome in glory, working wonders?

  • 12 “You stretch out your right hand, and the earth swallows your enemies. 13 In your unfailing love you will lead the people you have redeemed. In your strength you will guide them to your holy dwelling.

C) GOSPEL LESSON: John 20:19-31, led by Alicia Brown

The holy gospel according to John the 20th Chapter. GLORY TO YOU, O LORD!

  • 19 When it was evening on that day, the first day of the week, and the doors of the house where the disciples had met were locked for fear of the Jews, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you.” 20 After he said this, he showed them his hands and his side. Then the disciples rejoiced when they saw the Lord. 21 Jesus said to them again, “Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, so I send you.” 22 When he had said this, he breathed on them and said to them, “Receive the Holy Spirit. 23 If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven them; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained.”

  • 24 But Thomas (who was called the Twin), one of the twelve, was not with them when Jesus came. 25 So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord.” But he said to them, “Unless I see the mark of the nails in his hands, and put my finger in the mark of the nails and my hand in his side, I will not believe.” 26 A week later his disciples were again in the house, and Thomas was with them. Although the doors were shut, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you.” 27 Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here and see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it in my side. Do not doubt but believe.” 28 Thomas answered him, “My Lord and my God!” 29 Jesus said to him, “Have you believed because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have come to believe.”

  • 30 Now Jesus did many other signs in the presence of his disciples, which are not written in this book. 31 But these are written so that you may come to believe that Jesus is the Messiah, the Son of God, and that through believing you may have life in his name.

The Gospel of the Lord. PRAISE TO YOU, O CHRIST.

D) MESSAGE for the YOUNG at HEART, led by Yarlette Bryant
E) The Old Rugged Cross, SECOND SONG led by Tanya Browne
  1. On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross, The emblem of suffering and shame, And I love that old cross where the dearest and best, For a world of lost sinners was slain, So I'll cherish the old rugged cross, Till my trophies at last I lay down, And I will cling to the old rugged cross, And exchange it some day for a crown

  2. To the old rugged cross I will ever be true, It's shame and reproach gladly bear, Then he'll call me someday to my home far away, Where his glory forever I'll share, And I'll cherish the old rugged cross, Till my trophies at last I lay down, And I will cling to the old rugged cross, And exchange it some day for a crown

F) SERMON led by Pastor Todd

Refrain: Shepherd me, O God, beyond my wants, Beyond my fears, from death into life.

  1. God is my shepherd, so nothing shall I want, I rest in the meadows of faithfulness and love, I walk by the quiet waters of peace. [Refrain]

  2. Gently you raise me and heal my weary soul, You lead me by pathways of righteousness and truth, My spirit shall sing the music of your name. [Refrain]

  3. Though I should wander the valley of death, I fear no evil, for you are at my side, Your rod and your staff, my comfort and my hope. [Refrain]

  4. You have set me a banquet of love, in the face of hatred, crowning me with love beyond my power to hold. [Refrain]

  5. Surely your kindness and mercy follow me all the days of my life; I will dwell in the house of my God forevermore. [Refrain]

G) LITURGY led by Corey Brown
  • We gather together and share a CREED to remember that in God, we have a Companion who will never fail us and will be with us always. Will you share with me the Apostle's Creed?:

  1. I believe in God, the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth.

  2. I believe in Jesus Christ, God’s only Son, our Lord, who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried; he descended to the dead.* On the third day he rose again; he ascended into heaven, he is seated at the right hand of the Father, and he will come to judge the living and the dead.

  3. I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy catholic church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and the life everlasting. Amen.

  • When the disciples didn't know how to PRAY in the face of the challenges ahead of them, they asked Jesus for help. He said, "Pray this way!" Will you share with me the Lord's Prayer?

  1. Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name,

  2. thy kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

  3. Give us this day our daily bread;

  4. and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us;

  5. and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

  6. For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever and ever. Amen.

H) RESPONSIVE PRAYER led by Jackie Leatch, President
  • Open the doors we close, O God, when we alienate those who think or behave or worship you in different ways. Guide us to unity and harmony so that we may come to respect and cherish what we share in common. Lord, in your mercy; LORD, in your mercy: HEAR OUR PRAYER.

  • Open the rooms we lock, O God, to those who live without a homeland or place of safety ... or a place in our community to worship. Help us, in our church, learn to be a place of refuge and peace for all, so that we might learn to also be a nation of refuge and peace: Lord, in your mercy: HEAR OUR PRAYER.

  • Open the hearts we close, O God, to the cries of those in pain. We pray for those isolated physically or emotionally through this social distancing, but also through incarceration, addiction, mental illness, chronic suffering, grief, and all in need (especially):  LORD, in your mercy: HEAR OUR PRAYER.

  • This we pray, dear Lord, trusting in your holy and everlasting Companionship, in this life and in the life to come.  AMEN

J) COMMUNION LITURGY: Lord, God, Heavenly King .... Led by Tanya & Lakeesha Browne
  • Lord God, Heavenly King, Almighty God and Father, we worship you, we give you thanks, we praise you for your glory, Lord Jesus Christ, only Son of the Faither, Lord, God, Lamb of God, you take away the sin of the world, have mercy on us,

  • You are seated at the right hand of the Father, receive our prayer. For you alone are the Holy One, You alone are the Lord, You alone are the Most High, Jesus Christ with the Holy Spirit, In the Glory of God the Father, Amen.

Words of Institution & Instructions
Lamb, Of God, led by Dolphene Davis
  • Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world, have mercy on us (repeat) ... Lamb of God, you take away, the sins of the world, grant us peace ... grant us peace.

  • Glory to God in the highest, and peace to God's people on earth:

  • Lord God, Heavenly King, Almighty God and Father, we worship you, we give you thanks, we praise you for your glory, Lord Jesus Christ, only Son of the Faither, Lord, God, Lamb of God, you take away the sin of the world, have mercy on us,

  • You are seated at the right hand of the Father, receive our prayer. For you alone are the Holy One, You alone are the Lord, You alone are the Most High, Jesus Christ with the Holy Spirit, In the Glory of God the Father, Amen.

K) Post Communion Blessing and Prayer led by Lakeesha Browne

May the body and blood of our Risen Lord, Jesus the Christ, strengthen you and keep you in His grace, now and always. Amen.


  • Let us pray. Life-giving God, in the mystery of Christ’s resurrection you send light to conquer darkness, water to give new life, and the bread of life to nourish your people. Help us to stand end us forth as witnesses to your Son’s resurrection, that we may show your glory to all the world, through Jesus Christ, our risen Lord. Amen.

L) BENEDICTION: Numbers 6:24-26
M) THIRD SONG: Great is Thy Faithfulness, Austin Stone Worship Live
47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pastor Todd's Blog Post

We Deliver Confidence, Compassion, and Companionship through Side by Side Volunteer Training.

bottom of page